Applesauce Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are absolutely delicious! Like many others, we made this recipe with semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of raisins, and the cookies turned out great. They even stay moist for days! This has definitely become my favorite cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These cookies were good. Not too sweet. I doubled the recipe and baked them for about 20 minutes instead of 10 to 12 minutes. A little powdered sugar on the top made them look more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Wonderful, moist spice cookies! I used a chunky, homemade applesauce and some diced apples for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Cookies are delicious. My husband gave them 5 stars. I followed the recipe to the tea but only baked them for 10 min. Will definitely put these on our cookie favorite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used stick margarine instead of shortening, homemade cinnamon applesauce, and 1/4 tsp. each of ground ginger and allspice instead of the listed spices. I omitted the nuts and raisins. I used an ice cream scoop and baked for 17 minutes. I got 26 moist, delicious cookies. This is the best applesauce cookie recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Love this cookie... made it for my sons class project according to the recipe... remade it into a cupcake... awesome as a cupcake as well....this one is a keeper... as for the eye appeal... depends on how you drop em...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was most like a recipe that I remembered as a child, but I too omitted the raisins and added semi sweet chocolate chips. I also added maple frosting to the top. These are definitely delicious and am anxious to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made these cookies without nuts and they turned out wonderfully. My dad loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent flavor, soft, very light cake-like texture. I eliminated the raisins & nuts and doubled the apples. Also added one cup of cinnamon chips. Made 30 medium sized cookies. Used Smart Balance for shortening. No need for glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Okay, here are my changes to the recipe. I only used a 1/2 tsp cinnamon, but I wish I'd used the 3/4 tsp listed. I couldn't really taste the spices as much as I would have liked. I also used 1/4 tsp allspice because I don't have any cloves and 3/4 butter instead of shortening for the same reason. I added 1 tsp vanilla and left out the walnuts and raisins which was probably a mistake too. I also added 1/3 cup butterscotch chips and 1 tablespoon of chocolate chips just because I had them to use up. I left the first batch in for 10 minutes. They came out soft and doughy but still good. I thought they might taste better crispy so I left the second batch in for 12 minutes. They came out crispier but still soft. I got 4 dozen out of the batter (my cookies are somewhat small) then decided to use the rest to make 3 regular size muffins which I left in for 16 minutes. They came out very heavy; it will be interesting to see how they taste. Overall, they weren't as spicy as I was hoping, and I guess I should have left in at least the raisins and the full amount of cinnamon. I gave these a 4 though because I imagine they'd taste better if I followed the recipe better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States