Applesauce Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made a batch of these on a whim for my family for Christmas and they went fast! Love the texture of these cookies. I also substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I had no problem whatsoever with the dough or these cookies (like some reviews I read). They baked perfectly and beautifully in less time than the recipe suggested (that's my oven for ya though). I do agree that it's not about the presentation with this cookie..it's all about the taste! They are moist and delicious in flavor. I omitted the raisins because I don't like them, and I used a tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also drizzled a little glaze on top just to make them a bit more appealing to the eye. I tried it with a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar, but I liked the glaze better. This recipe is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I used smart lite margerine and added an extra 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of an egg to make them even healthier and they still turned out great, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
THESE ARE , AS WAS STATED BEFORE , NOT THAT ATTRACTIVE. I WHIPPED UP SOME CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR AND MILK, ADDING SOME CINNAMON, TO MAKE A GLAZE TO TOP THE COOKIES . IT MADE THEM LOOK MORE APPEALING AND GAVE THEM A LITTLE UMPH...THEY REALLY ARE NOT VERY SPICEY, SO I DID ADD SOME ALLSPICE TO THE RECIPE. THEY ARE OK , BUT NOT ONES THAT I BAKE VERY OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love these cookies! My family just loves them, which says something! I didn't have raisins so I used choc. chips instead and they came out beautifully. Next time I think I'll try both the raisins and choc. chips and see what happens. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
cookie was a little too doughy tasting, but an otherwise good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These are very soft, cake-like and puffy. One batch lasted appx 3 hours at my house, a new record for us! These cookies are very "home-y." I needed to bake mine a few mins longer than stated. I baked them until the bottoms were medium brown and they were just perfect. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These cookies are so delicious. My husband and 2 children just love them. They are so moist and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sauquoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is an adult cookie. They do not look very pretty. I must say that they are moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
i loved them! my grandma used to make applesauce cookies while I was growing up. I wanted to make them for my kids and wanted a similar cookie! Awesome moist and wonderful.. they were easy and fast.. We don't care for raisins so we put chocolate chips instead.. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States