Applesauce Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used stick margarine instead of shortening, homemade cinnamon applesauce, and 1/4 tsp. each of ground ginger and allspice instead of the listed spices. I omitted the nuts and raisins. I used an ice cream scoop and baked for 17 minutes. I got 26 moist, delicious cookies. This is the best applesauce cookie recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Love this cookie... made it for my sons class project according to the recipe... remade it into a cupcake... awesome as a cupcake as well....this one is a keeper... as for the eye appeal... depends on how you drop em...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was most like a recipe that I remembered as a child, but I too omitted the raisins and added semi sweet chocolate chips. I also added maple frosting to the top. These are definitely delicious and am anxious to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made these cookies without nuts and they turned out wonderfully. My dad loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent flavor, soft, very light cake-like texture. I eliminated the raisins & nuts and doubled the apples. Also added one cup of cinnamon chips. Made 30 medium sized cookies. Used Smart Balance for shortening. No need for glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Okay, here are my changes to the recipe. I only used a 1/2 tsp cinnamon, but I wish I'd used the 3/4 tsp listed. I couldn't really taste the spices as much as I would have liked. I also used 1/4 tsp allspice because I don't have any cloves and 3/4 butter instead of shortening for the same reason. I added 1 tsp vanilla and left out the walnuts and raisins which was probably a mistake too. I also added 1/3 cup butterscotch chips and 1 tablespoon of chocolate chips just because I had them to use up. I left the first batch in for 10 minutes. They came out soft and doughy but still good. I thought they might taste better crispy so I left the second batch in for 12 minutes. They came out crispier but still soft. I got 4 dozen out of the batter (my cookies are somewhat small) then decided to use the rest to make 3 regular size muffins which I left in for 16 minutes. They came out very heavy; it will be interesting to see how they taste. Overall, they weren't as spicy as I was hoping, and I guess I should have left in at least the raisins and the full amount of cinnamon. I gave these a 4 though because I imagine they'd taste better if I followed the recipe better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Maybe it's because I used margarine instead of shortening (?), but my batter was really runny, and the cookies just came out flat and suuuper soft, nothing like the picture. Really tasty, but more like flat cakes than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The cookies are tasty but very moist. Moist to a fault. The combination of spices are nice, Christmas like. ( I didn't add raisins). It was difficult to taste the applesauce because of the strong spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
i use an extra 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of the egg..alittle more cinnamon because i use homemade applesauce with no sugar or cinnamon..i wish i use allspice season for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I've made it several times, now, and it also works with just about anything that resembles applesauce in texture. Of course, I began with applesauce and they were great, but it also works with cooked pumpkin, raw carrots, or zucchini grated in the food processor. When I substituted them, because they are less acid than applesauce, I added two teaspoons baking powder. I've become very experimental lately, trying to use up leftovers in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States