Applesauce Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made a few changes to make it lower in fat and sugar, turned out great a real cakelike cookie. I used 1/4 cup veg oil and 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 c brown sugar, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I give these cookies 5 stars because they are great for a snack, with coffee, and are not too sweet! I added only a tsp. of vanilla as suggested in some reviews. Did omit raisins as we did not have any. They are good, just with the walnuts! May try next time with either raisins or dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read 10 reviews before making, added choc chips and used butter, cinnamon and vanilla and still found these cookies flat! Should not have doubled the batch, still have dough I did not bake and need to try and FIX it. I even made cream cheese frosting so that they were more appealing. Maybe it was the homemade applesauce I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is the recipe my mother used. I find they're much tastier if one adds nutmeg, more cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
You can make a delicious chocolate chip version of this recipe. I love the texture of this cookie, and it's not greasy at all. I deleted the spices and raisins. Instead, add 1 tbsp. vanilla, a little salt and 3/4 cup chocolate chips. I made a couple of "test" cookies with this new batter and decided it needed a little more vanilla and chips, so you might want to experiment before you make the entire batch. You can make bigger cookies because these cookies don't fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I tried out the recipe by cutting it in half, but they came out fairly dry & lacking much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent cookie recipe. I have added 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup craisins, 1/2 cup golden raisins, 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips, and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips for a more heartier cookie. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My hubby really enjoyed these cookies. They were pretty simple to make also! I never made cookies before and they turned out great! Like the others, I added the 1 tsp of vanilla. Also added in a little extra flour. Used 2 sticks of butter rather than shortening like mentioned in one review. THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deleteme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent cookie recipe. My family loves this one. Very moist cookie. I baked at 350 degrees however for 10 minutes...and added one teaspoon vanilla and one teaspoon of cinnamin. I did not grease cookie sheet, just used nonstick cookie sheet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dalton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Love 'em... added vanilla extract and freshly grated nutmeg... put raisins in one batch, left the other batch "naked" for my raisin-haters. I only baked them for ten minutes so they wouldn't be hard, and they turned out just right. I also made them a little bit bigger than one teaspoon, something like a big tablespoon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States