Applesauce Cocoa Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2001
I don't like very sweet cookies so I gave these a try. Unfortunately, they were very heavy, unflavorful, and even my diabetic mother wouldn't eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
This cookie is tasty, I might try it with unsweetened chocolate instead of cocoa next time to see if there is a difference. Also, should add sweetners with dry ingredients not with eggs like regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
recipe calls for 1 cup egg, I used 1 egg. Used artificial sweetner to = 1/3 cup sugar, used sweetened applesauce (by mistake), cookies are not sweet to the taste at all. Sorry, didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe once I tweaked to suit me. I made two batches: one as written and one in which I substituted 1/3 St. Joseph's Maltitol Sweetner and reduced the water to about a Tablespoon or two. In comparing the two, the one with the St. Joseph's was sweeter and I thought, a better tasting cookie. The original recipie produced a cookie that was more bitter in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This is an excellent recipe- very versatile. I have many food allergies so I used amaranth flour, flax (instead of an egg), potato milk and honey (instead of granular sweetener). They still turned out wonderful. Also, if you bake them for less time they stay chewy in the middle and taste like brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librariange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by emglider
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used honey instead of artificial sweetener and about half the amount of water called for. They turned out great, very cakey and spongy. These would make great whoopie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
there isnt anything delicious about this recipe. They looked good but did not taste good at all. They need flavor added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
The cookie had a good texture, but little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Too sweet for me!!!! =] ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These are easy to make . . . like a cake . . .I added walnuts and vanilla and more cinnamon yet perhaps I should have added more cocoa. . . anyway I would bake them again as something nice to give to a neighbor and it is low sugar content to me that is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States