Applesauce Cinnamon Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I was so tickled to find this recipe! I remember that applesauce jello used to be a real fad in the 70's. After reviewing the reviews, I made a few alterations. I used only 1 oz. of candies and only 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce to cut down on the sweetness. I also didn't have any lemon so I substituted peach. It was so good that my kids fought over it! The next day I tried it with the lemon and it wasn't too good. In fact, it was a weird combination so stick with the peach flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
One of my family favorites from childhood. The texture from the applesauce makes it something different. I think I used about 1 1/4 cup water and it turned out fine. I have done it with cherry jello, but the lemon jello is used to give it a bit of punch to cover the sweetness of the candies. Not for everyone, but a nice change of pace for those who want something different for their next gathering. Serve with casseroles that have cream sauces or with ham dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I made this for a baby shower. I used cherry gelatin rather than lemon. Be ready...It's VERY sweet! Also, if you are looking for something with the gelatin consistancy, this is not the recipe. I topped it with whipped cream. I received differing opinions ranging from, "This is really good" to "What the heck did I just put in my mouth!" LOL. I think it would be good for Summer cook outs though because it is refreshing. I'll make it again, mostly because I enjoyed watching people's reactions to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Mine did not harden, and I didn't like the flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Easy and good. Very strong taste and sugary. I served with very flavorful foods and this was a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I've been making this for years, except I use 2 pkg. raspberry Jello, a quart of applesauce, and a package of cinnamon red hot candies dissolved in the water. I also add an envelope of Knox gelatin to help in the firming process, and it fits perfectly into a green Tupperware jello mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariAnnaW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe was not a good favor with the lemon jello, but it is excellent with Cherry jello instead. If it wasn't for the lemon jello in this recipe, I would rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I have added this to the menu for Christmas dinner the past two years and my family absolutely loves it. I think the lemon works wonderfully. Although, I am thinking about experimenting with other jell-o flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Reading, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have to say, this was an interesting recipe. I have never had anything like it and can't say, that I will again. No offense. I love red hot candies, Jell-O and applesauce but everyone that tried it in my house was perplexed on what to make of it. For one, it was extremely cinnamon-y sweet, it sat in the fridge for over 4 hours and held a shape for like 5 minutes and started turning into gelatin-y sauce. Was not impressed about it flattening while trying to take photos of it and I went so far as to put it in pretty mini molds for it's appearance but by the time I walked with it out of my kitchen and into my office where I have my photo box, it was almost pouring off the plate. Then just turned right around, went back to the kitchen put it in a bowl and called it done. Then emptied all the other mold together into a bigger bowl and back into the fridge. If it wasn't so overwhelmingly sweet and held it's shape, I might enjoy it better. Sorry my apologies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I love this gelatin salad. Had looked for the recipe for a long time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States