Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Priya
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup oil for 1/2 cup applesauce and used self raising flour. The cake turned out perfect except for being a little more moist than I would've liked. So, for the next time, I would omit the extra applesauce and cook it for a little bit longer. The cake has a muffin sort of texture and would even be great baked as individual muffins. I highly recommend this recipe to those who love the apple/cinnamon flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This receipe was absolutely GREAT!! My family loved it and I have noted options that can be added for special occassions or differenttastes. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT! Also, VERY easy to make, this is a plus in a busy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
EXCELLENT! Moist, delicious and quick to make! I baked my cake in a 9 x 13 pan and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This cake was delicious, moist and very easy, I've made it twice and everyone has loved it. I made this cake in a bundt pan. I did make a couple of substitutions... I replaced 1/2 cup of oil with an additional 1/2 cup of applesauce (I always do that to reduce fat), I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves for extra spice. I only needed to cook it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Fabulous!!! Thanks for the suggestions of substituting 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 oil. I ran out of plain applesauce and used apple/strawberry sauce instead; added just a bit of nutmeg - my boys (19 & 13) absolutely love it. Can't keep them away from it!!! (lol) Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe. Very moist and easy to make. I used a stoneware bundt pan and had to increase cooking time a bit, but it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful cake! I followed the suggestions made by another reviewer. I substituted an extra 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup oil. I also used a bundt pan. I had to cook for 50 minutes, and it probably could have baked a little longer, but it was fine. It didn't come out of the pan clean, that is my only complaint, otherwise it was DELICIOUS! I didn't use anything to top it, but it would be great with a cream cheese frosting. I will do that next time. My husband took some back to work with him to share with his work buddies. He absolutely raved about it! It was so easy, I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Delicious, moist, sweet and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is a fast & easy recipe that tastes wonderful. I would like to mention that it does not call for 2 1/2 cups of oil, as someone stated earlier...but 1 1/2 cups of oil. I baked mine in a bundt pan and it was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I halfed the recipe since it seemed alot for making a first time. I pretty much followed the recipe except for two slight changes. Like most everyone, I didn't use all the oil it asked for. I just added a little more applesauce. I also used a homestyle applesauce that had chunks of apples in it. It came out incredibly moist! My little ones loved it, even with out the confectioner sugar sprinkled on top. Not too sweet. I put it in an 8x8 pan. Next time I'll just make as muffins. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennicel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States