Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I adapted this recipe for 9 servings and baked in an oblong pan. It was fantastic; very moist and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGGYI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent. So moist and dense, a small slice was quite filling. My kids loved it as well and it was an easy recipe for them to help prepare.I also substituted extra applesauce for some of the oil and I baked in bundt pan. Took about 60m. I used cream cheese II frosting. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was very good. My husband liked it very much too. I did as the others recommended and substituted a half cup of oil for a half cup of apple sauce. I also topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II. The frosting on it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xeracia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very tasty! I took other user's advice and cut down on the oil and added more applesauce. It was moist delicious and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This cake was lovely and moist, but was not sweet enough for my tastes. Granted, I didn't follow the other reviewers suggestions and didn't add the 1/2 cup of extra applesauce in substitution for 1/2 cup of oil but it tasted rather bland and not very appley. It has great potential and with a few changes could be an excellent cake. I may possibly try it again but I will change a few things and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I halfed the recipe since it seemed alot for making a first time. I pretty much followed the recipe except for two slight changes. Like most everyone, I didn't use all the oil it asked for. I just added a little more applesauce. I also used a homestyle applesauce that had chunks of apples in it. It came out incredibly moist! My little ones loved it, even with out the confectioner sugar sprinkled on top. Not too sweet. I put it in an 8x8 pan. Next time I'll just make as muffins. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennicel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe. Very moist and easy to make. I used a stoneware bundt pan and had to increase cooking time a bit, but it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Priya
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup oil for 1/2 cup applesauce and used self raising flour. The cake turned out perfect except for being a little more moist than I would've liked. So, for the next time, I would omit the extra applesauce and cook it for a little bit longer. The cake has a muffin sort of texture and would even be great baked as individual muffins. I highly recommend this recipe to those who love the apple/cinnamon flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Fabulous!!! Thanks for the suggestions of substituting 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 oil. I ran out of plain applesauce and used apple/strawberry sauce instead; added just a bit of nutmeg - my boys (19 & 13) absolutely love it. Can't keep them away from it!!! (lol) Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
EXCELLENT! Moist, delicious and quick to make! I baked my cake in a 9 x 13 pan and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States