Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Worked great as recommended...decrease vegetable oil to 3/4 cups and increase applesauce to 2+1/2 cups. I used it for my daughter's first birthday cake - with cream cheese frosting II and marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Exactly the recipe I was hoping for. Didn't want raisins or nuts (picky eaters in the house). Halfway into mixing I discovered my applesauce jar only had 1 cup in it. Fortunately, I had apples on hand and shredded a few up. Still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Penny
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
made this for my husbands friends at work and it didnt make it til lunch time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
4.5 stars! Easy to make, especially considering the simple ingredients (which I had on hand). Tasted great in muffin/cupcake form - very fluffy and light and yummy - and my boyfriend decided to throw the batter into the waffle maker to see what happened. The results were great! Same light sweetness but with a slightly more crisp outside (definitely not crunchy, just a bit firmer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Have made this recipe 3 times in the last few days---great recipe!!! Followed the advice of others and substituted 1/2 cup of oil with 1/2 cup of applesauce. Th cake is wonderful---everyone liked it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this recipe and used a cream-cheese frosting with a touch of lemon juice in it, and it was a big hit! I made it for 10 ladies at a nursing home and they are quick to say they don't like something, but they actually enjoyed this alot. I even caught a worker licking the pan for the cream cheese frosting---the frosting made it so much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this exactly to the instructions, used a bundt pan, baked for 50 minutes, and it turned out great. I like that it is not overly sweet. I eat too many sweets as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
i wasted alot of ingredients on this cake very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The cake came out very moist and light, with great aroma. Absolutely delicious with coffee or alone as a snack. The cake is not very sweet (I used unsweetened applesauce), maybe next time I will add a bit more sugar and/or try sweetened applesauce. I subsituted 1/2 oil for applesauce, like the other reviewers. The batter was enough for a bundt cake mold and a small bread loaf mold. Baked both together for 50 minutes and came out just right. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States