Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I made it in 2 loaf pans, used unsweetened applesauce and added 4 T brown sugar and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Also followed others and substituted 1/2 c oil with 1/2 c applesauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious cake, not too moist and not too dry. Good texture and pleasant taste that is not overpowered by a lot of spices. I made it in a 12 cup bundt pan that worked out perfectly. Hubs informed me that the recipe was a keeper. Thanks for sharing Coral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this cake today with the left over homemade applesauce I had in the fridg. I only had 1 1/2 C's so I did not decrease the oil. I made 12 cup cakes and one 9 inch round cake for the freezer. The cakes came out perfectly lite in texture but tasted more like a spice cake. You wouldn't know there was applesauce in it. I do plan to frost them with butter cream frosting when they are cooled. I did taste a nibble from the corner of one of the cup cakes and it does taste good. I will try these again sometime with more applesauce as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is wonderful! I had a jar of applesauce that needed used up, so I thought I would try out this recipe. I took other users' suggestions and substituted 1/2 cup of the vegetable oil for an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves to jazz it up a bit. Next time I'm going to try it out with dried cranberries! To top off this wonderful cake, I whipped up a batch of the Caramel Frosting IV (found here) and my hubby and I thought we were tasting a bit of Heaven. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I'm a novice cook at best, but trying to reach deep within to find some of that domesticity that I know must be in there somewhere. [I should disclose that my adult-living teacher in high school offered me an A, if I didn't come back to class. That's how bad it was. lol] I appreciate simple, easy-to-follow recipes, that turn out really well and scores me some accolades! This was one of those recipes. I made it for my Sunday School class to go with our morning coffee & everyone really raved about it! Gives me hope to keep working at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmarie47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Worked great as recommended...decrease vegetable oil to 3/4 cups and increase applesauce to 2+1/2 cups. I used it for my daughter's first birthday cake - with cream cheese frosting II and marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Exactly the recipe I was hoping for. Didn't want raisins or nuts (picky eaters in the house). Halfway into mixing I discovered my applesauce jar only had 1 cup in it. Fortunately, I had apples on hand and shredded a few up. Still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Penny
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States