Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
excellent cake I used my home made apple sauce in it. It was moist and yummy. Very easy to make. osen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Everyone in my family thought this cake was excellent. I gave the recipe to my son who is a novice baker. It turned out wonderfully. I replaced a 1/2 cup oil with applesauce. Baked in sheet pan for 50 minutes. I made a rum-honey glaze. 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup rum, 1/4 cup apple juice. Cook over medium heat, bring to boil, cook for two minutes. Slowly a pour over cake, just a very little bit at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This cake was delicious and very moist. I think the next time I make it I will add the extra applesauce and make a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Super easy...turned out great all 3x's I made it. I only put a scant cup of oil in and only 1 cup of sugar. Never fail for sure...family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I read the reviews and all the suggestions and I did the 2.5 cups of applesauce, 1 cup of oil, 3t cinnamon, 2t nutmeg and 1.5t cloves. The spices made it more of an applesauce spice cake which is what we prefer. Very moist and in no need of frosting unless you have a super sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I am always on the lookout for inexpensive ways to treat my kids without the junk. Fall is a perfect time to crank up the heat and use up those apples. I had some old (we only eat crunchy) apples laying around and I peeled them, cored them and threw them in the crock pot with some spices and OJ for a couple of hours, mashed with potato masher and had applesauce galore. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I always try to cut down on the sugar and the oil. I used half the sugar (raw) and half the oil (coconut), as well as replaced one cup of white flour with whole wheat I found in the freezer. It turned out sweet enough. I made a double batch and 5 kids devoured it. The texture was airy and cake like, moist and absolutely a keeper on anyone's healthy dessert or breakfast menu. Easy to assemble the day before (at least dry ingr) and very forgiving. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
100% whole wheat flour, and this cake was still light and delicious. I decreased the sugar by a little and I added the nuts and a small amount of icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Everyone loved it, but I thought it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made this severa times and family loves it. This morning I had 7 or 8 fresh pears that i needed to use. I peeled them, made them into a sauce, used them instead of applesauce. Either way, the cake is wonderful and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This cake is awesome! I used walnut oil and whole wheat pastry flour. I also added ginger and cloves. I used 2 1/2 cups organic applesauce and 3/4 cups Oil (walnut). Very good! It taste like Fall!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iris357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States