Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really liked the way this cake turned out. Very moist. I have to say I did not follow the recipe to the letter. I tweak it. Instead of using all of the oil, I used 1 cup butter, and 1/2 cup of the oil. Enjoyed it very much. Oh and I made my own applesauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I Couldn't find my tube pan (which I never use anyway), so I used a 9X13 Glass pan for this recipe. I decreased the Oil (used 1 cup) and Increased applesauce (used 1 and 1/2 cups) unsweetened, but followed the other ingredients, time cooked exaclty. This turned out perfectly. One thing I want to add though, to my surprise, and is a positive thing, is this cake is not like light and fluffy cake. It is a heavy, wonderful, dense muffin-like dessert that comes out perfect from the pan, no sticking, slices without sticking to the knife and is just one of the best recipes I have ever come across. I added some drizzles of simple vanilla glaze on the top to satistfy my youngest because of previous reviews said it wasn't that sweet, but I really don't think it was necessary. This would have been excellent without the extra sweetness. It is just sweet enough to satisfy, but hte extra glaze adds a little more for the ones who need to satisfy the sweet craving. Had this as a dessert for my chili dinner tonite and my kids want this again for breakfast tomorrow! My youngest is a picky eater. You could even make these as muffins, and they would be the best heaviest muffins EVER! I will be making this over and over again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very easy and yummy! I cut the recipe in half and used a bread loaf pan. And I cut back on the oil (1/2 cup instead of 1 cup) and sugar (1/2 cup instead of 1 cup) and increased the proportion of applesauce (1 1/2 cups instead of 1 cup). And it was done in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great cake and one of the easiest to make! Everyone loved it. I followed someone's suggestion to reduce the oil by half a cup and increase the applesauce by halfa cup. Makes a very moist, fluffy and light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
very good and moist-can add more applesauce if want and cut the sugar 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This cake recipe was AMAZING, even with the significant changes I made: BLENDED (fresh) STRAWBERRIES in place of applesauce, mixture of melted BUTTER & COCONUT OIL instead of vegetable oil, and I nixed the cinnamon. I had lots of strawberries on hand, and couldn't find a good strawberry cake recipe (most called for strawberry flavoured jello and not real strawberries!), so I had a feeling a recipe that a cake recipe that used applesauce would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good! Made it in a 13 by 9 pan with less oil and more applesauce as well as less sugar. Sprinkled icing sugar sparingly on the top. Oh and about 1/4 tsp of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Perfect cake for the Fall. I followed the advice of other reviewers and I decreased the amount of oil to 1 cup and increased the amount of applesauce to 2 1/2 cups. I also added crushed walnuts to the mixture. Even thought this cake has 2 cups of sugar, I didn't find it overly sweet which I'm ok with. It was a hit and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is an easy recipe and it absolutely delicious. The cake is light and moist, I made into loaf tins. I'm going to make a toffee sauce or frosting to cover the others. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Loved it. Very moist. I did decrease the sugar by half. I also added 1/2 c applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 c as suggested by other reviewers. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States