Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
4.5 stars people? Do you not have taste buds? This is a nice light yet moist cake, but 0 flavor. 2 cups of apple sauce & it doesn't even taste like apple. Definitely needs cinnamon &/or other spices. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This cake was ok. It was a little dry. It seemed the consistency of the batter was off. Maybe 1/2 cup less flour, more egg or butter. I don't know what the problem is. The flavor was good but the texture needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Great recipe. I loved it. The only thing I did different was to substitute half of the white sugar for brown sugar. The applesauce I used was homemade from a recipe on this site that I highly recommend. "Sarah's Applesauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Beard Veal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Loved it , made it in mini bundt pans ,it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
great moist cake, i'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Scaled this to 18 servings to make one 10" round cake and one 8X8 cake. Took reviewers' suggestions and upped the applesauce (homemade from homegrown apples), cut back a little on the sugar, used jumbo fresh from the coop duck eggs, but had to delete the walnuts as I'm allergic. Dry? I think not!!! Absolutely delicious!!! Used 1/4 t. ground ginger (could have used a touch more) and frosted with cream cheese frosting. Hubby just devoured the equivalent of 3 servings. Am just grateful his cholesterol and weight is perfect so he can enjoy such delights!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Delicious. Made into cupcakes with spiced organic apple sauce instead of spices + sauce, and used honey for 1/4 of the sugar content. has some local organic pasty flour, and used local farm fresh eggs. omitted nuts and raisins. going to make a little drizzle glaze to put on the top. cooking time aprox 15 min as cupcakes. ...and boy are they good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is exactly how I imagined it would be. Delicious, irresistible,yummy! I didn't make any alterations per say, just a few additions out of choice. They are as follows: I used Bramley Apple sauce, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white (coz the family didn't want anything too sweet), added 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp allspice (coz we LOVE spice cakes), a little over 1/2 cup of currants instead of raisins, and skipped the walnuts (coz I didn't have any). So no changes that would alter the recipe so to say, just some minor substitutions. Thank you FUNN182, my house smells like the cosiest place ever, and the cake is 100% a keeper! Oh oh and I didn't frost it coz everyone was too impatient to dig in immediately!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made mini muffins out of this recipe. They came out pretty tasty! Not as applesaucey as I thought they would be though. I didn't add raisins as I didn't have any in the pantry but the walnuts add a nice touch. Will make this again. maybe try a cake sheet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is wnderful with or without frosting! Very moist and flavorful! A pefect fall (or anytine!) dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States