Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great applesauce cake! This doesn't take long to bake - it's done in 35 minutes for a 9x13 pan. For those who found it dry, maybe they overcooked it. I almost did! I upped the applesause by 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown (decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup). I also added 1 chopped apple and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. It smelled great coming out of the oven. For the icing I used Pumpkin Bar Icing from this site. It's a cream cheese icing that tastes great and is very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Nice moist cake, used a 9 X 13 pan and frosted it with cream cheese icing. Very easy and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I was making these for my kids, so I made this into cupcakes and didn't add in the raisins and walnuts; although, I think I would have liked them more had I included these ingredients. But, my kids liked them just as I made them, and they didn't last long in the house. I topped the cupcakes with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The cake was very moist. I made the cake without raisins or walnuts. It still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Terrific recipe- this is a keeper. I found the cake to be easy to make, very moist and delicious. In the future I wouldn’t bother making a frosting for this as it stands well on its own. I made half the recipe resulting in 12 cupcakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Our family loved this easy recipe.The cake vanished in notime. Iadded ginger cloves, and used cannola oil instead of butter.Iused 1/2 cup wholewheat flour and glazed the cake using powdered sugar vanilla ,and a little water for a lactose free desert.thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I was expecting it to be a little more moist, but it had great flavor. I added chopped apple and made them into cupcakes. I halved the recipe and made about 10 cupcakes. I cut the sugar back and still thought it was very sweet. If I made the full recipe I would cut out about a 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is exactly how I imagined it would be. Delicious, irresistible,yummy! I didn't make any alterations per say, just a few additions out of choice. They are as follows: I used Bramley Apple sauce, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white (coz the family didn't want anything too sweet), added 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp allspice (coz we LOVE spice cakes), a little over 1/2 cup of currants instead of raisins, and skipped the walnuts (coz I didn't have any). So no changes that would alter the recipe so to say, just some minor substitutions. Thank you FUNN182, my house smells like the cosiest place ever, and the cake is 100% a keeper! Oh oh and I didn't frost it coz everyone was too impatient to dig in immediately!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow! Made this for a birthday party and followed this recipe exactly. It was so easy to make. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It went quickly at the party, everyone loved it, even a friend of mine who isn't a sweet lover had two slices! I will make this again soon. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Well, this was not my favorite. This is my first less then 5 stars I've ever given. Didn't have a great deal of flaavor and was dry. I may have baked it a bit too long. My oven and I have issues. I don't think I'll make this again. I'll try another spice cake sometime. It was easy but not didn't tickle my taste buds. Family thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States