Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This tasted fairly good, but so moist as to seem underdone and a little gooey, in spite of cooking the recommended time and waiting until it began to pull from the side of the tube pan. The parts nearest the pan sides were done, as was the top and bottom, and I think cooking longer would have resulted in an overdone (and possibly still gooey) cake. Hubby said it was "rubbery" and we did not finish it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
it turned out great in two 9" loaf pans. 40 mins @ 350. Watch that it does not over cook. It does not mention but i believe the applesauce is unsweetened. I soaked the raisins in two tbsp of brandy over low heat for 5 mins. discard the remaining liquid before adding. They look and smell great. rose up pretty good in the pans too. I did not beat the flour just folded it in. Same with the apple sauce. It curdles with the butter mixture so i folded it in by hand as well. If it does turn out a bit over cooked you can poke some holes and make a glaze with butter and rum and no one will know (or remember) the difference. I am adding a cinnamon glaze. 1 cup powdered sugar 2 tbsp butter, softened 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon 1-2 tbsp milk 1/2 tsp vanilla extract pour over cooled cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Easy to make and delicious to eat...it was a hit with everyone. I didn't have molasses so I substituted brown sugar and it worked out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! I made it just as written, except that I put it in a muffin tin and omitted the cloves since I didn't have any. I got 12 large muffins, which I baked at 375 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Delicious! I made half a recipe. I used golden raisins, which I soaked in hot water for a few minutes. I baked it in an 8-inch square pan for 30 minutes. It smelled great while baking and had a very good flavor and texture; not overly sweet and just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This cake was very good! I made it for my husband who des not like raisins, so I left them out and it came out great. I also used two round cake pans instead of a tube pan and frosted the cake with the "White cake frosting I" recipe from this website. VERY PLEASED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I thought this was delicious. I used a 9x13 pan which was a bit too big, 9x9 as another reviewer used would be better. I cut down the sugar a bit and it was still sweet. The entire cake was gone quite quickly and I want to make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
loved this. sooo moist and flavorful. I used nuts instead of raisins (it is what i had on hand). Next time I may add more molasses and cloves, but that is just what my tastebuds like. This really is a mild gingerbread, but using applesauce as a sub for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a great cake and easy to make. I didn't have a tube pan so I used 2, 8X8 pans. The recipes was delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I tried this recipe because I was looking for cakes that my 22-month old son can also enjoy. Being allergic to eggs and nuts, it can be hard to find cakles that are safe for him. It's good, but nothing special...I'm not a huge fan of molasses, and the molasses flavor comes through quite strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States