Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
OH MY GOODNESS!!! Make these into muffins :) they are the best, my husband said that these tasted better than the store bought muffins. I made muffins and the cake. The muffins are by far the best, and are a huge hit at work and home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This cake was amazing. I didn't have cloves, so I substituted both the cinnamon and cloves with pumpkin pie spice. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was an excellent cake! I loved it from the first bite. It was moist and nicely spiced, and I felt the raisins added a nice additional flavor. It tasted just like the applesauce cake I buy at the farmer's market.. maybe even better since this one was free! I'll definitely be making this on Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merkelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
The flavour was good, however it was very crumbly. May have been an error on my part, but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
great recipe. Followed it to a "t" first time and it was great! I, too, put my stamp on it the next time by adding walnuts and nutmeg..but that doesn't make it a bad recipe, just different taste palettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was pretty good, with a few changes. I cut way back on the cloves, using around 1/4 t. I also replaced the shortening with light margarine. I baked in a 9x9 inch pan because I wanted squares of cake instead of slices, so I had to bake about 10 minutes longer than stated in the recipe. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe! I have a girl in my daycare that is allergic to eggs and this was perfect as a special snack for the kids! I substituted half of the sugar for splenda and it came out great. I also used my own home canned applesauce, which was a bit dry, so I added a 1/4 cup of water. My husband dislike frosting and this was great in his lunch with out any. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Delicious and great for my son with dairy and egg allergies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was concerned about a cake with no eggs but this was wonderful. Very light, moist and perfect in spice flavor. Reminds me of the taste of Boston Brown Bread but so light in texture. Used the most applesauce of all the recipes I saw. Hats off to your family's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Very easy and tasty! I like to add 2teaspoons cocoa to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States