Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is one of the best applesauce cake recipes I have ever used. It is a perfect size in an 8 inch square pan. I used butter not margarine, and baked it for 45 minutes. I thought the batter was very stiff and was a little worried, but it came out perfect. I used the ingredients exactly as listed. I dusted it with powdered sugar when it was still slightly warm and served it. They all loved it including the grandchildren. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll use it many times I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I really enjoyed this cake. I had never made applesauce cake before, and I was pleased with the results. I didn't have any raisins, so I chopped up an apple to add into the mix. It turned out dense and moist. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Moist, full of cinnamon flavour. I couldn't believe that I didn't need any eggs. Everybody had to have seconds and thirds and...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I have been a lurker around the allrecipes site for a few years now and many of the recipes I use have come from this site but I have never reviewed anything here before because I hate signing up for stuff online (usually leads to tons of spam) but this recipe compelled me to sign up so that I could leave my review! What a wonderful cake!! I was looking for something that used no eggs nor oil, and I found this one. I was a bit skeptical but decided to try it anyway and it came out of the oven about 20 minutes ago. YUM!! My 7 year old (mr. picky)is eating some now. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I would suggest to the reviewer that had a bad experience with it, to try again. Perhaps you had a bad batch of flour or something else that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made it without any cloves (we don't like cloves) and loved it!! I was a little concerned about the density of the batter while I was mixing it but the cake turned out beautifully. I'll definitely be making this again!! (Thanks!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
We really enjoyed eating this cake. My boys--2 and 5--liked helping to make it. We made it yesterday and it is still moist and fresh-tasting today. (I used a 9-inch springform pan which worked fine. The cake looked nice on display after we removed the ring from the springform pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I make this cake often and I still haven't tried it with the raisins and walnuts. It's wonderful with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was yummy. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This was so quick, easy and SO delicious. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I love making this cake. Some times I add some oatmeal to it. I like the no eggs or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States