Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Turned out fabulous, big hit with the hubby! Was surprised considering there is no egg in the recipe. I made the following substitutions: whole-wheat flour instead of white brown sugar instead of white no cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crooksette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This cake was quite tasty and very easy to make. But it did not look pretty at all. The kind of cake to make for snacking, not to bring to an event or have for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Great loaf! I was sort with the applesauce maybe by 5 tablespoons and added rum to make the one cup. I also only used 1/3 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. My applesauce was already sweetened, so the adjustments were perfect! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
With all the applesauce in this recipe, I had hoped for a moister cake. It also seems to be lacking a bit in flavor, I might try adding more cinnamon or some allspice. Cream cheese frosting on top is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My ladies church group really loved this cake. It was the hit of the meeting. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this cake using my own homemade applesauce (apples, cinnamon, vanilla, butter and brown sugar) which I made too much of and went in search of something to do with it. I found this recipe and was skeptical about this cake not calling for eggs. The batter is very thick and I was doubtful, but this cake came out surprisingly delicious and very moist. It rose nicely, too. I used a bundt pan and ended up having to add an additional 20 minutes baking time. Next time I will include the walnuts and raisins but even without, it turned out great! I wrapped half of this cake in aluminum foil and froze it, it still tastes great and is there for whenever unexpected company stops by. This recipe is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My son loves this cake and has asked me to make it again twice since I originally tried it about a month ago! Instead of raisins (he doesn't like raisins) I added 1 whole apple finely chopped. Each time I make it I'm going to try other fruits and veggies in it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My grandfather used to make applesauce cake when I was a kid. I don't have his recipe, so I tried this one... Pretty close! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, margarine instead of butter, and pecans instead of walnuts (since that's what I had). Delicious! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shainna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
A great recipe and easy to make. I frequently substitute the applesauce with a couple bananas creamed with my mixer. A great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is really hard for me. I hate giving anything a bad review, but this cake just didn't come through as far as flavor. We found it to be extremely bland. I had to rescue it by spreading some apple butter I made yesterday on it. (From this site, Apple Butter II submitted by diane). Now, on a positive note, the texture was magnificent!! Light and spongy, yet very moist. The top got an ever-so-slight crust to it that would hold up nicely to a thin glaze. The bottom stayed moist, no crust at all - like a cake should be. As a matter of fact, the texture is why I'll be hanging on to this recipe and doing a little experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States