Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very easy. Made the house smell wonderful. Don't be concerned with the thickness of the batter when you get it into the pan.. it is really moist after baked. I took it into work and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmed

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
It was very easy to make and had a good taste but I think I prefer an apple cake over an applesauce cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Since I did not make the recipe exactly as written, I gave 4 stars....and wow-- I just got done eating a big mouthful of this cake and it is so good, very moist and flavorful! I added about 1/4 cup more applesauce since that was all that was left in my jar and I wanted to finish it off and I added about 1/8 tsp of cloves and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg instead of the full 1/4 tsp of cloves. I did not have raisins or walnuts on hand so I added about 3/4 cup of oats and 1/2 tsp vanilla. After I poured it into the pan, I sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon over the top and cooked it for 33 minutes and it was done all the way and browning on the edges. We already ate half the pan for breakfast and I have a feeling it is not going to last through the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Dense and chewy, and not in a good way. I used good strong homemade applesauce, but the apple flavor is overwhelmed by the cinnamon in this cake. If I make it again, I'll add an egg for the texture, cut the cinnamon in half, and use a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very good cake! I added a fresh chicken egg, & put it in a 9x13 glass pan. (instead of a 8 inch square pan) This cake came out very moist & yummy! I will make this cake again & next time I plan to use homemade cream cheese frosting on it as well. I think that kind of frosting would be really good on this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I added an egg by mistake and purposely added a tsp of vanilla extract instead of the cloves. I dusted the top with powdered sugar as another reviewer suggested. This cake didn't last one night. My husband ate more than half, and myself and the kids finished it off. So moist and delicious. Heck, even the batter tasted great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Just finished making this cake. I added a tsp. vanilla and extra cup of applesauce. Didn't use nuts/raisins since hubby can't have them. However, the cake was delicious and very moist. I will definitely make this one again. It's a very easy recipe and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This cake is quick and delicious; it's also a great mommy-daughter baking activity. My 2-year-old loves to help add the ingredients and stir, and since there are no eggs, she gets to taste the batter. We have one of these cakes cooling on the counter right now. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that used only 1 cup of applesauce so I could use up last years homemade applebutter. The substitution worked great! I did add about a 1/4 cup of water because the applebutter was a lot thicker than applesauce. Sure glad a reviewer mentioned how thick the batter was, otherwise I might have thought there was a mistake in the recipe. You can barely call it batter, its more like refrigerator cookie dough before its chilled. I like this a lot better than my old applesauce cake & will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe is the same one my mother gave me from the Fanny Farmer Cookbook Seventh Edition...it is the best applesauce cake EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States