Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
WOW! it was gone in one night! We loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I found this recipe to be too dry, perhaps because it lacked the eggs. I followed the recipe exactly as written but the results were less then satisfactory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Instead of nuts and raisins, I added 3/4c of oats. Gives it the bulk needed and lower in fat. This is so easy to make, and stays moist! *IF* it lasted more than 2 days, I think it would keep up to 4 (without refrigeration) and still be moist. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Bruch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
One of my kids favorite recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The batter is very thick when you're ready to pour it. Don't worry about it, trust the recipe! This is great, and easy to modify or add additional spices as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Definitely a keeper...we all really enjoyed it. I did opt to leave the nuts out since my husband wouldn't have liked them and I put craisins in place of raisins since I don't like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Made the cake today it is moist and very tastey i would recommend to anyone that wants an a\easy simple and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I had to adjust the recipe to make it gluten-free. I suspected it would not work without eggs, but I gave the recipe a try as it stands, because if it did work without eggs, I wanted it in my collection! I made the Applesauce Cake IV at the same time, so the kids and I could give them a taste test. The recipes are very similar. I had no raisins, so neither recipe was made with those. I cut the sugar in half because we are on a very low sugar diet. Although this recipe held together a little better than IV, everyone preferred the flavor of IV. The biggest difference is that this recipe calls for no salt, and less ground cloves, so perhaps it would be just as good if one added salt and more cloves.:-) As it stands, I will only make Applesauce Cake IV in future, with an egg or two added to help with the inherent gluten-free crumbliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Made this to take to my daughter's kindergarten class for snack. It tasted good but I was expecting more of an apple taste - it actually tasted almost like gingerbread. I would probably reduce the cloves next time. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan and it takes longer to cook that way, so it was a bit hard to get the middle cooked through. Overall the kids seemed to like it and I would probably make it again as a filling snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Easy, tastes great, did I say easy? I just whipped this up at midnight, so we can have it with breakfast and I have to say it is the easiest cake I have made. I made it exactly as the recipe shows, minus the nuts. I made it even easier by using my microwave bundt pan and this beautiful cake was baked in 10 minutes! It filled the bundt perfectly. It is a little denser than a typical boxed cake, but makes a perfect breakfast treat. Could even be sliced thin and buttered. Will be making again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States