Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by ARCTICAMY
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
good, but i dont know what the fuss is about. its missing something, but dont know what. update: didnt taste as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Awesome. I couldnt get enough of this!Omitted the raisins and used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Okay, to be honest I haven't tried this particular recipe, but it is almost identical to the one I make all of the time. Try making a hot sweet lemon sauce to drizzle over it with vanilla ice cream. Heaven...simply heaven! I will be trying this recipe the next time I make this yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Easy to make. Tastes great. My family loved it. Just don't bake it too long. I didn't have any raisins. Was good without them. I sprinkled cinnamon over it before I put it in the oven. I'd rate it about 4.8 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was delicious! I have two young children, so I'm always staring at applesauce in the fridge. I made a few tweeks to the recipe for personal taste, and it came out fabulous. Just like grandma used to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This cake was so simple and yet turned out very well. Subtle spices, nice flavour and good crumb, nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Very delicious and easy to make. Not to over powering on the spices. Nice blend. This was spongy and soft. I added walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a delicious cake! I loved it. It had just the right sweetness and had just enough nuts and raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Sounded simple and good so I tried it. Took it to a family gathering and served it up warm with vanilla ice cream. Delicious! To dress it up I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top. And to make it healthier I use half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is such an excellent cake, and so easy/ fast to make! We didn't have eggs, so I was looking for something sweet to make without. The batter DOES seem thick at first, but it bakes up wonderfully, and the applesauce makes it nicely moist inside. I took other reviewers' suggestions: omitted nuts & cloves (had none), substitute 1/4 cup oatmeal for 1/4 cup of the flour, used margarine, added 1/4 tsp vanilla. Husband LOVED this one, and he is not a big raisin fan. He came back for fourths..! It's sweet enough, just a dusting of powdered sugar on top is great. Yummy!! I look forward to more with a cup of java tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. jade cooks
Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States