Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Awesome. I couldnt get enough of this!Omitted the raisins and used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Okay, to be honest I haven't tried this particular recipe, but it is almost identical to the one I make all of the time. Try making a hot sweet lemon sauce to drizzle over it with vanilla ice cream. Heaven...simply heaven! I will be trying this recipe the next time I make this yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Easy to make. Tastes great. My family loved it. Just don't bake it too long. I didn't have any raisins. Was good without them. I sprinkled cinnamon over it before I put it in the oven. I'd rate it about 4.8 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was delicious! I have two young children, so I'm always staring at applesauce in the fridge. I made a few tweeks to the recipe for personal taste, and it came out fabulous. Just like grandma used to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This cake was so simple and yet turned out very well. Subtle spices, nice flavour and good crumb, nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Very delicious and easy to make. Not to over powering on the spices. Nice blend. This was spongy and soft. I added walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a delicious cake! I loved it. It had just the right sweetness and had just enough nuts and raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Sounded simple and good so I tried it. Took it to a family gathering and served it up warm with vanilla ice cream. Delicious! To dress it up I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top. And to make it healthier I use half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is such an excellent cake, and so easy/ fast to make! We didn't have eggs, so I was looking for something sweet to make without. The batter DOES seem thick at first, but it bakes up wonderfully, and the applesauce makes it nicely moist inside. I took other reviewers' suggestions: omitted nuts & cloves (had none), substitute 1/4 cup oatmeal for 1/4 cup of the flour, used margarine, added 1/4 tsp vanilla. Husband LOVED this one, and he is not a big raisin fan. He came back for fourths..! It's sweet enough, just a dusting of powdered sugar on top is great. Yummy!! I look forward to more with a cup of java tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. jade cooks
Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I tried to sell this to my 3 and 5 year old children as "breakfast cake." They loved the idea, but they were a tough sell. I added 1/4 cup oatmeal in place of 1/4 cup of white flour and used one cup ww flour. I also used applesauce I made this fall from my father-in-law's trees. I used 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. Overall, I liked the cake because it seemed healthier than eating a coffee cake or a doughnut for breakfast, but I would need to add something else to get my kids convinced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States