Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a delicious cake! I loved it. It had just the right sweetness and had just enough nuts and raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Sounded simple and good so I tried it. Took it to a family gathering and served it up warm with vanilla ice cream. Delicious! To dress it up I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top. And to make it healthier I use half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is such an excellent cake, and so easy/ fast to make! We didn't have eggs, so I was looking for something sweet to make without. The batter DOES seem thick at first, but it bakes up wonderfully, and the applesauce makes it nicely moist inside. I took other reviewers' suggestions: omitted nuts & cloves (had none), substitute 1/4 cup oatmeal for 1/4 cup of the flour, used margarine, added 1/4 tsp vanilla. Husband LOVED this one, and he is not a big raisin fan. He came back for fourths..! It's sweet enough, just a dusting of powdered sugar on top is great. Yummy!! I look forward to more with a cup of java tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. jade cooks
Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I tried to sell this to my 3 and 5 year old children as "breakfast cake." They loved the idea, but they were a tough sell. I added 1/4 cup oatmeal in place of 1/4 cup of white flour and used one cup ww flour. I also used applesauce I made this fall from my father-in-law's trees. I used 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. Overall, I liked the cake because it seemed healthier than eating a coffee cake or a doughnut for breakfast, but I would need to add something else to get my kids convinced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I've made this cake twice. Both times I used Earth Balance vegan spread in place of the butter to make the cake vegan. The first time I used unbleached white flour and added one small grated zucchini. That combo worked out nicely. The second time I used 1 cup unbleached white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and changed it to Craisins instead of raisins. Also spread Tofuti "Better Than Cream Cheese" on it while it was hot from the oven. That worked out nicely too. A keeper -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I thnk I would rate this even higher if I could. I bake this for a friend who gave me alot of apples and said make me something. So i made apple sauce using gala apples and then used the apple sauce in this cake. The cake was moist and flavorful. I used pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I had. everyone loved this cake and I did not have a piece so I made another and I loved it. I used whipped cream cheese frosting fromthis site on it. perfect combo. Try this you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This cake is delicious! A few extra thing I did were: use margarine rather than butter, use sweetener in the recipe rather than sugar, sprinkle cinnamon and brown sugar on top of the cake before baking, and drizzled the baked cake with homemade glaze (2 tablespoons of icing sugar and a few drops of water). This cake tastes great heated up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
to cut back on fat, I used lite margarine. The cake would have been great but it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Excellent and I didn't even add the raisins or the walnuts! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANTESTEWART

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
When I first took the cake out of the oven, my family was not impressed. However, the next morning they loved it!! I agreed - it was Better the second day! FYI - I did add 1/4 of oil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States