Applesauce Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Husband and teen daughter loved it. My daughter and her friend ate half the loaf in 3 minutes. Out of necessity I used two containers of diced pears in juice for kids lunches plus 1 apple sauce. Gave me the right amount of fruit and juice and sauce, They liked it because it was not too sweet. They could make a sandwich out of it. They thought it had honey it in. Did not realize it was apples. I got a full 2 lb. loaf. Hubby put honey ham on it and thought it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
we made it and loved it i used a whole cup of chunky applesause and didn't use the shredded apple and also added extra cinnamon and extra bread flour...it was an awesome bread and then used a honey butter spread to top it.....extra yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Excellent! Followed rsogburn's modifications (2 cups bread flour, 1 cup wheat, 1/3 cup all-purpose, replace white sugar with 2tbsp honey and 2tbsp molasses) Since I didn't have nutmeg, I added even more cinnamon (1 1/2 tsp). Also just chopped the apple instead of shredding it, following other reviews. I used the sweet bread setting and put the apple in midway through the knead cycle when the breadmaker indicated. If you do this, beware since the dough gets wetter after you add the apple! The second time through I had to add some extra flour to combat this. Came out great -- good apple taste but not overwhelming. The final product was good with honey on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Doubled cinnamon and apple chunks. Mix sat over night in bread maker and came out light and fluffy this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is pretty good! I made the dough in the bread machine then took it out and finished it off in the oven at 375 for 40 mins. I didn't have nutmeg, so I used pumpkin pie spice--about a teaspoon, and I also increased the cinnamon to a teaspoon. This bread seemed to me to want to have fruit in it, so I added dried cherries in. I wish I'd added more! I also didn't shred the apple but chopped it, and I like how there were some moist chunks of apple in the bread as a result. This is a nice bread for breakfast or pb & j sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Easy to make in the bread machine, as stated. My husband and kids really enjoyed it. Quite dense, without the texture of a sweet bread - kind of in between a yeast bread and a sweet bread. Not my favorite, but I will make it again for my family since they liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful recipe! It's a very dense, but extremely moist bread. It also has basically no fat in it, which makes it just a carb-rich, guiltless bread! My alterations: I didn't have any apples so I left those out, but added just a smidgin more of the applesauce and apple juice to make up for it. Also added more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent! I was too lazy to shred the apple, so I used some extra apple sauce. The dough seemed pretty moist when it was kneading, so I kept dumping in more wheat flour, probably at least a 1/2 cup more. I also didn't have any nutmeg, so I skipped it....It was delicious, my favorite bread so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This bread is delicious! My whole family loved it! I didn't have nutmeg so used some Allspice instead, and I also had to add a little more flour, but this is a great recipe! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States