Applesauce Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
The first time I made it, it was perfect...the second time, changing NOTHING but the size, it didn't rise. At all. Not too sure what happened, but not especially happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have made this 3 times: 1st time - used Ultragrain WW flour and raw sugar, rest as written - I found it dry and somewhat lacking in flavor. 2nd time - used Ultragrain WW flour and raw sugar, increased applesauce to 2c, added 1 chopped peeled lrg apple, used 1-1/2t apple pie spice in place of cinnamon - very moist and DELICIOUS! LOVED IT and family wanted more, please. Would have had to store in fridge if it had lasted beyond 1 meal. 3rd time - is in the machine right now - used Ultragrain WW flour and raw sugar, increased applesauce to 1-1/2c, added 1 chopped peeled lrg apple, added 1/3c golden raisins, used 1-1/2t apple pie spice in place of cinnamon. I am thinking this will be the happy medium between #1 dryness & #2 moistness. :) Since we have a mini orchard - I can make lots and freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I followed the instructions and after 6 hours the bread still did not bake nor rise, i poured in pans and baked in oven then it worked but bye then it was dry. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginparo
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very good! My kids liked it especially warm with a dab of butter and sprinkled very lightly with cinnamon/sugar. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginparo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Total flop, outside was almost burnt and inside was raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I thought this bread was good but a little dry. I added chopped dates and a little vanilla to mine. My family liked it. I may make it again with a little more apple sauce to add more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
MY KIDS LOVED THIS!!! HUBBY ALSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This bread was good. A little bland, but overall good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
It wasn't as sweet as I had hoped. I was expecting something like banana bread or pumpkin bread. I think next time I make it, I'll add chocolate chips or something instead of extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYGREEN23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I sent this bread to work with my husband. I couldn't keep up with the requests for the recipe! It was so moist and had a really great flavor. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States