Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
The meat was nice and moist with great flavor. A little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Our whole family loves it. Even my dad he does ever like any kind of barbeque sauce. He makes my mom fix it now. We even fix enough to put aside to freeze later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
OMG, is this tooo sweet! I mean, it really is way too sweet!! I didn't read the other comments from reviewers saying to half the sugar, so I tried to balance it out by adding about 3 times the amount of ketchup to take away some of the sweetness. It is still sweeter than I like, but closer to what I was looking for. I am giving it a 4 star, only because it needs the tinkering advice of reviewers to get it to come out right. Otherwise, a very good sauce. I made two different bbq sauces today. Kathy's Award Winning (from this site) and this one, and this one is definitely better than Kathy's for those looking for a less tangy bbq sauce. Thanks and I am sure it will be perfect next time with half the sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Perfect... except I used half the brown sugar... I was disappointed that I didn't make and extra chicken for my lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
EXCELLENT!!! I used this as a sauce for meatballs over rice and it was heavenly. I only used 1 c brown sugar instead of 2 because I used sweetend applesauce and it was plenty sweet.. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This recipe is so wonderful I have been searching for it for over a year! I made it for a bbq and gave away my printout to a friend who just had to have it, not realising I hadn't saved the recipe (I was new to allrecipes at the time).....I've been trying to make it from memory ever since. Now I can make it for our BBQ this weekend and know I have it right! I'm not a traditional BBQ sauce fan, so it's great to have an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I made this for my dad, and he loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I was making this for a large neighborhood party so 4x the recipe. Everyone seemed to love it so much in the reviews that I thought it was a "no brainer" to use it. WOW! This is VERY SWEET and VERY SPICY. Also it had not much of a tomato taste, which I expect in a barbeque sauce. I added 6 CANS of tomato sauce and 3/4 cup of lemon juice to try to dilute it and solve the problems. I decided it was "useable". I later heard from a friend that was at the party that the honey mustard sauce was good but she hadn't tried the barbeque sauce because someone told her that "It had a real kick to it". My advice would be add less pepper and sugar. It's easier to add ingredients later than to try to balance them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is an incredible sauce for pork! I use it on ribs and it is close to perfect as is. I tend to like my stuff a bit more on the spicy side so I add a little fresh crushed red pepper, but that is only for my taste. Everyone in my fam love this recipe and I've been giving this as gift for the holidays. Thanks for blessing us with this posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
this is a great recipe that i use often with chicken as well as pork. i substitute grapefruit juice for the lemon juice and use 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar. very tastey. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States