Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Great Recipe,my friends were all surprise that it was home made and not from a bottle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I loved this sauce, but of course changed it a little. I added more garlic powder, threw in some crushed red pepper, and some dry mustard. Had a nice sweet taste up front with some heat in the back. Put this on some ribs I smoked. I think Pork and Apples are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe as written, very easy to make. I used it with chicken and it was good. You can definitely taste the applesauce. I plan on making it again but using it in the crockpot with boneless porkchops and sliced apples, I think it will be even better with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
A little on the sweet side for me. I added more tomato paste and ketchup to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This sauce was too sweet for my taste. It tasted more like a duck/sweet & sour sauce. The texture of the sauce was a bit too "granular or gritty". This was due to the texture of the applesauce used in it. Changing to a smoother applesauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I also halved the sugar and still it was just too sweet for us. I even put a little bit of liquid smoke in it and just couldn't get it to taste the way we wanted. Probably just not the recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We really liked this sauce. It is sweet, and if you like sweet barbeque sauces chances are this one will be a hit. The only change I made was to decrease the sugar by half. Since I used a sweetened applesauce this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I took other reviewers' advice and halved the sugar too. I thought this had a nice tangy zip to it, and it was really easy to make, but I don't think it had distinctive enough a taste for me to make it regularly. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Sorry to rate it so low, but it was much too sweet. I took the advice of others and reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup and I still couldn't eat it. It's more like a sweet and sour/duck sauce than the barbeque sauce I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This tastes just as good as the famous apple bbq sauce served at Montana's restaraunt, and so easy to make. I spread it over chicken and bake in the oven, brushing more on every 15 minutes or so to get a nice thick coating as it bakes on. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States