Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
You would never know by looking at the ingredients but this recipe is very good! I added vinegar and it turned out amazing...just depends on if you like your sauce sweet or not. Will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Wow. This sounded weird, but I had a can of applesauce that needed to be used up, so I decided to give it a try. It was fabulous on chicken. The applesauce kept the sauce from sliding off and the flavor is great. Cut the sugar to one cup - no more is needed. Spread lavishly over chicken pieces and bake on 350 for one hour covered and fifteen minutes uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Okay, so I made this for the first time well over a year ago. I just never thought to rate/review it. I use this sauce on my steaks and pork chops. I really like it alot. It keeps well in the fridge....I think it actually gets better with age (much like myself, Haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
As called for, I could see how this recipe would be really sweet. I actually flipped the apple sauce/ketchup measurements, so I had more ketchup than applesauce...plus I cut the sugar in half. I also added a few dashes of apple cider vinegar and chile powder. All in all it was great....I picked this recipe in particular especially because it called for applesauce, whereas most recipes call for water. This way, youre adding essential liquid AND flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Fantastic! I also toned the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup. I just took a quick taste after it's been in the fridge for several hours and it is an incredible mixture, the flavours really take turns on your taste buds. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
On it's own the sauce is ok, but drag some slow cooker Kalua pork through it, and it takes it up to a whole new level. The applesauce was such an interesting idea and it really works. Like others, I also decreased the sugar by more than half and put a splash of vinegar in as well as a shake of dry mustard and dried chopped onion. I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
OMG!! This is sooooo good! I was nervous about some of the other reviews, so only used a little over half of the brown sugar. It is amazing BBQ sauce! I cannot wait to make it again with another meat. I poured it over meatballs and baked. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovefoodtoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Good idea, but needs a little tweaking to take it from good to great. Here's what I did: add a couple drops of liquid smoke and half the sugar (and it was still way too sweet). Could replace some of the brown sugar with honey to add a little depth. After I doctored it, hubby and one of the three kids liked it. If I add honey and do only 1/4 c. brown sugar, I think the other two will like it, too. Thank you for the applesauce idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I just tried this on chicken and it was pretty good. I did read some of the reviews and followed the advice to cut back on the sugar and use unsweetened applesauce. I was impressed enough to pass this around to some friends and I will probably use this recipe with my ribs later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made some tofu nuggets that I baked up like chicken- let me just say this is phenomenal!!! I'm trying to keep away from eating it by the spoonful:) Like others I reduced the brown sugar by half and it's still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States