Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Better than store bought and quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this sauce!! I do not usually eat BBQ sauce, but I was looking for something to cook with Ribs and this was definitely a winner! I didn't change a thing as I like sweeter sauce vs. spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This turned out quite well with a few modifications. I only used 3/4c brown sugar, and I replaced the lemon juice with rice vinegar because I ran out of lemons. The original recipe definitely calls for way too much sugar though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Gave this awesome recipe only a 4 instead of 5 because it uses way too much sugar. The only change I made to the recipe is instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1/2 and it was still sweet enough. Used it over porkchops; YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this with homemade applesauce. I also played with the recipe some by adding my favorite hot sauce. I also decreased the sugar. The mix of hot and sweet was dead on! I used lime juice and red wine vinegar because I did not have lemon juice. I put this on meat taken off a pork shoulder that I had roasted. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
i made it the first time with 1c sugar and this time with about 3/4c sugar. better this time. also, franks hot sauce for a little kick, next time i will try a seeded smoked chipotle pepper. it's a yummy base. everyone that tried it when i made it liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have made this so many times and I love it. I made it for a friends pig roast about 5yrs ago and now everyone looks for it. Doesn't take long to disappear. I also had a rib off with my Dad using this sauce (he says his ribs are the best), not so.... I won hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
You would never know by looking at the ingredients but this recipe is very good! I added vinegar and it turned out amazing...just depends on if you like your sauce sweet or not. Will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Wow. This sounded weird, but I had a can of applesauce that needed to be used up, so I decided to give it a try. It was fabulous on chicken. The applesauce kept the sauce from sliding off and the flavor is great. Cut the sugar to one cup - no more is needed. Spread lavishly over chicken pieces and bake on 350 for one hour covered and fifteen minutes uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Okay, so I made this for the first time well over a year ago. I just never thought to rate/review it. I use this sauce on my steaks and pork chops. I really like it alot. It keeps well in the fridge....I think it actually gets better with age (much like myself, Haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States