Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
While I'm generally in the camp of "You can't have too much sugar!", reviewing the recipe purely on what is written, it was so sweet I thought I would enter a sugar coma and never return. So, next time around, I halved the sugar and used unsweetened applesauce- still had complaints that it was too sugary, but *I* enjoyed it. The applesauce adds a nice element to an otherwise standard sauce recipe...I add a little Hot Sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaFrolics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good. Like other users, I only used 1 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Next time I will use only 1 cup. I also found it was runnier than I would have liked (even after putting it in the fridge). But very easy and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My family loved this sauce. I did cut the brown sugar in half and it was very sweet. Thanks for the tip and great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Loved it! Great flavor.... yes sweet, but what do expect with 2 cups brown sugar. I had to read carefully it said UN-PACKED brown sugar. 2nd was a little less sweet & Delious! Will be making time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Great! I made my own unsweetened applesauce for this sauce. It was a big treat and met with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Better than store bought and quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this sauce!! I do not usually eat BBQ sauce, but I was looking for something to cook with Ribs and this was definitely a winner! I didn't change a thing as I like sweeter sauce vs. spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This turned out quite well with a few modifications. I only used 3/4c brown sugar, and I replaced the lemon juice with rice vinegar because I ran out of lemons. The original recipe definitely calls for way too much sugar though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Gave this awesome recipe only a 4 instead of 5 because it uses way too much sugar. The only change I made to the recipe is instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1/2 and it was still sweet enough. Used it over porkchops; YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this with homemade applesauce. I also played with the recipe some by adding my favorite hot sauce. I also decreased the sugar. The mix of hot and sweet was dead on! I used lime juice and red wine vinegar because I did not have lemon juice. I put this on meat taken off a pork shoulder that I had roasted. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States