Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
To me, this tasted exactly like cinnamon applesauce with a little bit or ketchup mixed in. I'm not sure if its the amount of applesauce or what, but I didn't particularly like the flavor or the texture. However, after quite a bit of tinkering to make it taste more like barbeque sauce, it tasted ok on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
4 stars because it was a great starting pt. Tried it as written, found it too sweet for my taste. Changed it a bit the next go-around to taste more like bbq sauce: used smoked paprika and increased the amount to 1 tsp, used 2 tbsp tomato paste and 1/2c water instead of ketchup, only used 5 tbsp of lemon juice, and added 1/2 ts chili powder. Simmered until sauce clinged to spoon. Still sweet, but with a smoky flavor as well. Loved the applesauce idea!! Cans very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I actually didn't make this recipe exactly because so many people had stated it was too sweet. I used unsweetened applesauce (homemade) and only 1 tablespoon ketchup because it is also sweet. I used canned diced tomatoes instead and put them in the food processor. Because we like some spice, I used the Aldi ones with green chiles. I then added the brown sugar to taste and used only about 1/4 cup. I haven't put it on my meatballs yet, but it tastes really good. I will be serving them as appetizer cocktail meatballs with this sauce on them in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shani
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I like the recipes. I didn't find it too sweet. Although, I made some adjustments. I used no-sugar added applesauce. My only issue is that I didn't make enough. I cut everything in half because I only had half a cup of applesauce on hand. I also added a little no-sugar added honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
V. good and so easy to make. I did decrease the sugar down to my taste. I still gave it a five star, b/c you should try this with the alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I make my own applesauce so I know which type of apples I use in it. Bought applesauce can't list the exact amount of each apple in the container, just the types of apples used. So even if the jar says unsweetened; the applesauce itself may be on the sweet side because of apples used. This recipe is sweet with 2 cups of brown sugar I agree but if made with applesauce made from just Granny Smith apples its not as sweet. So the biggest thing is taste test the applesauce and put in the amount of sugar you would use. Recipes are made to the owners taste and given to others as a basis for making it theirs. If you like it as is that is good but otherwise go to your taste buds. Good Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muchkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I also cut down on the sugar, but I added diced jalapenos to give it a "little kick". The sweet/hot was fabulous. Worked real well on wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is the best barbeque sauce for any meat. I made baked chicken thighs with this sauce, and it was the most delicious chicken I've ever had. It's sweet, tangy, and juicy. Some reviewer here had said that this sauce is way too sweet. I disagree. It does taste realy sweet when you taste it right when it is cooked and hot, but when it is cooled down, the sharpness of sweet taste goes away as it thickens. Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
After seeing the ingredients, I was a little dubious about this, but it turned out really well. Next time, I think that I will add a bit more paprika and garlic, but it was really yummy on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States