Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe saved my dinner tonight. I made the sauce yesterday and thought I would follow one reviewers instructions and bake at 175 for 2 hours and spread sauce over meat every 15 minutes. Well my oven died about 4 hours before I was going to start the meat and so I had already put in into a crock pot because I heard the Lord say to. Well, was I ever glad. After a couple of hours I took the meat and drained it and dipped it into the sauce and laid each piece back into the crock pot and turned it back on. I was really sweating not knowing how I was going to make the ribs taste good and not be sauceless. They came out perfect. I'll admit I did tweak the recipe a little. I make my own applesauce with sugar and cinnamon so I left out the cinnamon and 1/2 the sugar. I mada a second batch for dipping and didn't need it. THANK YOU for this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love the applesauce/cinnamon on boneless/skinless chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I was in a hurry so I cooked it in the microwave for about three minutes a batch. Then I used my immersion blender to make it smooth. This recipe saved my tail...and six pounds of freshly picked, peeled and sliced apples. I tried to make apple butter and left it cook overnight in the crockpot. It cooked too long or my pot was too hot and it burned. Not bad burned, but the flavour was off. I found and tried this recipe and it was wonderful. I am now canning it and have plenty to give friends as a welcome summer gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Hi, All! I just used this recipe, but I modified the ingredients. For example, I used one cup, not two, of light brown sugar. Also, I used cinnamon apple sauce, and not 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. After I mixed all my ingredients together, PRESTO! The dish was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jon
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The first time I used this sauce, I did ith with chicken, was a little sweet. I learned from it. I used it on St. Louis spare ribs, mixed up a dry rub and they turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
It's good. It's just not GREAT. We thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a. Good sauce, only gave it 4 stars cause it would be better if it was thicker! But flavour is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I like the fact it doesn't call for any molasses but tastes like it's missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It took some tweaking to get this to not taste like applesauce, but it worked in a pinch, and I'd use it again if I was out of regular barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used half the brown sugar per suggestions and found it sweet enough for me but not too sweet. Didn't have all the lemon juice so substituted 4 tbsp of apple cider vinegar. Doubled the pepper. Tasted amazing! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States