Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
As called for, I could see how this recipe would be really sweet. I actually flipped the apple sauce/ketchup measurements, so I had more ketchup than applesauce...plus I cut the sugar in half. I also added a few dashes of apple cider vinegar and chile powder. All in all it was great....I picked this recipe in particular especially because it called for applesauce, whereas most recipes call for water. This way, youre adding essential liquid AND flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Fantastic! I also toned the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup. I just took a quick taste after it's been in the fridge for several hours and it is an incredible mixture, the flavours really take turns on your taste buds. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
On it's own the sauce is ok, but drag some slow cooker Kalua pork through it, and it takes it up to a whole new level. The applesauce was such an interesting idea and it really works. Like others, I also decreased the sugar by more than half and put a splash of vinegar in as well as a shake of dry mustard and dried chopped onion. I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
OMG!! This is sooooo good! I was nervous about some of the other reviews, so only used a little over half of the brown sugar. It is amazing BBQ sauce! I cannot wait to make it again with another meat. I poured it over meatballs and baked. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovefoodtoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Good idea, but needs a little tweaking to take it from good to great. Here's what I did: add a couple drops of liquid smoke and half the sugar (and it was still way too sweet). Could replace some of the brown sugar with honey to add a little depth. After I doctored it, hubby and one of the three kids liked it. If I add honey and do only 1/4 c. brown sugar, I think the other two will like it, too. Thank you for the applesauce idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I just tried this on chicken and it was pretty good. I did read some of the reviews and followed the advice to cut back on the sugar and use unsweetened applesauce. I was impressed enough to pass this around to some friends and I will probably use this recipe with my ribs later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made some tofu nuggets that I baked up like chicken- let me just say this is phenomenal!!! I'm trying to keep away from eating it by the spoonful:) Like others I reduced the brown sugar by half and it's still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was great! We like a little bit more kick so we added Cayenne Pepper. The apple sauce was a very nice base for the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great recipe - with some changes. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar due to all the reviews that said it was too sweet (but I think it could handle more - but no more than 1 cup), plain unsweetened applesauce, left out the cinnamon and added about 1/4 tsp dried onion flakes. Really good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I happen to have a sweet tooth and I think that this is a great bbq sauce especially on a warm sunny afternoon, with a nice cold beer, some close friends, and of course, some football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States