Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My family loved this sauce. I did cut the brown sugar in half and it was very sweet. Thanks for the tip and great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Loved it! Great flavor.... yes sweet, but what do expect with 2 cups brown sugar. I had to read carefully it said UN-PACKED brown sugar. 2nd was a little less sweet & Delious! Will be making time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Great! I made my own unsweetened applesauce for this sauce. It was a big treat and met with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Better than store bought and quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this sauce!! I do not usually eat BBQ sauce, but I was looking for something to cook with Ribs and this was definitely a winner! I didn't change a thing as I like sweeter sauce vs. spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This turned out quite well with a few modifications. I only used 3/4c brown sugar, and I replaced the lemon juice with rice vinegar because I ran out of lemons. The original recipe definitely calls for way too much sugar though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Gave this awesome recipe only a 4 instead of 5 because it uses way too much sugar. The only change I made to the recipe is instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1/2 and it was still sweet enough. Used it over porkchops; YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this with homemade applesauce. I also played with the recipe some by adding my favorite hot sauce. I also decreased the sugar. The mix of hot and sweet was dead on! I used lime juice and red wine vinegar because I did not have lemon juice. I put this on meat taken off a pork shoulder that I had roasted. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
i made it the first time with 1c sugar and this time with about 3/4c sugar. better this time. also, franks hot sauce for a little kick, next time i will try a seeded smoked chipotle pepper. it's a yummy base. everyone that tried it when i made it liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have made this so many times and I love it. I made it for a friends pig roast about 5yrs ago and now everyone looks for it. Doesn't take long to disappear. I also had a rib off with my Dad using this sauce (he says his ribs are the best), not so.... I won hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States