Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I also cut down on the sugar, but I added diced jalapenos to give it a "little kick". The sweet/hot was fabulous. Worked real well on wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is the best barbeque sauce for any meat. I made baked chicken thighs with this sauce, and it was the most delicious chicken I've ever had. It's sweet, tangy, and juicy. Some reviewer here had said that this sauce is way too sweet. I disagree. It does taste realy sweet when you taste it right when it is cooked and hot, but when it is cooled down, the sharpness of sweet taste goes away as it thickens. Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
After seeing the ingredients, I was a little dubious about this, but it turned out really well. Next time, I think that I will add a bit more paprika and garlic, but it was really yummy on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great Recipe! I made it to go w/some leftover pork roast. I did not have any ketchup on hand and used 4oz of tomato sauce and a few tablespoons of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this Sunday to go on ribs. It was very tasty and the whole family loved it!! The ONLY thing is that it IS too sweet but next time I make this I'll cut back on the sugar. I also added some hot sauce to give it a little bite. I had leftovers for lunch today and am going to be canning some jars of this...excellent sauce! I cant wait to try it on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I had no paprika so I used chili powder but only 1/4 tsp instead of 1/2. Also wanted it quicker than the stove would have called for so I used the microwave in 2 minute bouts until blended to the consistency I wanted. Very interesting flavor! Will be cooking Tilapia with it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evansrabbitranch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this was a good base but I added 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, doubled the salt and used unsweetened organic applesauce. this made for a tangy, sweet, and spicy bbq sauce. I love how quick and easy this is. I threw the mixture in the crockpot with a bottle of boylan's rootbeer and 4lbs of pork butt for pulled pork. I can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Half the sugar is plenty. This recipe tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
While I'm generally in the camp of "You can't have too much sugar!", reviewing the recipe purely on what is written, it was so sweet I thought I would enter a sugar coma and never return. So, next time around, I halved the sugar and used unsweetened applesauce- still had complaints that it was too sugary, but *I* enjoyed it. The applesauce adds a nice element to an otherwise standard sauce recipe...I add a little Hot Sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaFrolics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good. Like other users, I only used 1 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Next time I will use only 1 cup. I also found it was runnier than I would have liked (even after putting it in the fridge). But very easy and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States