Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
recipe was good but the brown sugar i adjusted to 1/2 cup and used applesauce cinnamon flavored. so i didnt have to use the cinnamon. turned out great not to sweet just right....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I think this is about as good as it gets!!! It is sweet as the brown sugar indicates but it is delishious! I always use a southwest dry rub first, while my meat cooks and this barbeque sauce completes it. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Awsome BBQ sauce. The only thing I did was double the receipe and added liquid smoke. Added this to some pulled chicken. Family loved it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
To me, this tasted exactly like cinnamon applesauce with a little bit or ketchup mixed in. I'm not sure if its the amount of applesauce or what, but I didn't particularly like the flavor or the texture. However, after quite a bit of tinkering to make it taste more like barbeque sauce, it tasted ok on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
4 stars because it was a great starting pt. Tried it as written, found it too sweet for my taste. Changed it a bit the next go-around to taste more like bbq sauce: used smoked paprika and increased the amount to 1 tsp, used 2 tbsp tomato paste and 1/2c water instead of ketchup, only used 5 tbsp of lemon juice, and added 1/2 ts chili powder. Simmered until sauce clinged to spoon. Still sweet, but with a smoky flavor as well. Loved the applesauce idea!! Cans very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I actually didn't make this recipe exactly because so many people had stated it was too sweet. I used unsweetened applesauce (homemade) and only 1 tablespoon ketchup because it is also sweet. I used canned diced tomatoes instead and put them in the food processor. Because we like some spice, I used the Aldi ones with green chiles. I then added the brown sugar to taste and used only about 1/4 cup. I haven't put it on my meatballs yet, but it tastes really good. I will be serving them as appetizer cocktail meatballs with this sauce on them in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Sibley Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shani
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I like the recipes. I didn't find it too sweet. Although, I made some adjustments. I used no-sugar added applesauce. My only issue is that I didn't make enough. I cut everything in half because I only had half a cup of applesauce on hand. I also added a little no-sugar added honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
V. good and so easy to make. I did decrease the sugar down to my taste. I still gave it a five star, b/c you should try this with the alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States