Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
natural applesauce; it tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I am usually not the type to rate something, but I thought this recipe was fantastic. Who knew you could make such a treat in 20 minutes. I reduced the amount of sugar drastically because it just did not need it. My question to my husband was "why can't you buy chunky style applesauce"? I loved the chunks of apple. I won't be buying applesauce any longer, this is too easy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was really easy, although I needed to use less water (about 1/2 a cup only) because I soaked the apples in water with a little lemon juice to prevent browning, although in retrospect I guess it doesn't matter since the cinnamon and cloves are brown :). This recipe tastes exactly like Mott's cinnamon applesauce which I LOVE, but I can pronounce all the ingredients that went into it. I used 6 Fuji apples (I tried this with golden delicious and did not like it - I'm going back to Fuji or Cortland next time - the Fuji won't need any sugar) and 1/8 c sugar, and probably could have gone without, completely. I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon cause I love cinnamon, and will leave out the cloves next time. I also might try throwing in some strawberries or other berry. I did need to cook it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I don't like cloves and debated using them. I did and OH MY WORD was this awesome!! I used the food processor for 3/4 of this then used a fork just to break up the remaining apples so there would still be large chunks. We had it while it was still warm and oh my word!! Never again will I buy applesauce when I can easily make it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! **EDIT: I've made this numerous times now and it's great warm but even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I'm not a chunky applesauce person though, so I will run my chopped apples through the food processor after cooking (and cooling!) to make a smoother applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
The only thing I added to this recipe was about 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I used a potato masher to eliminate the big chunks. We ate it warm and thought it was delicious. My 4-year-old daughter even ate a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Good recipe! It tastes great without adding any sugar and just a little bit more water. (A dash of nutmeg is great too.) A healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very simple and very good. I used extremely tart apples, and 1/2 cup sugar was just about right (would probably have used less for "regular" apples). I liked the chunky texture! My husband thinks it would be delicious warm over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
this is the best applesauce i have ever had. i blended it up when it cooled off like another reviewer said and it was great. thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I love cinnamon so I added a lot extra (1 tsp.) I only used 1/8 cup sugar since I tasted it and it didn't need anymore. I like my applesauce chunky so I thought this recipe is great. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States