Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I am usually not the type to rate something, but I thought this recipe was fantastic. Who knew you could make such a treat in 20 minutes. I reduced the amount of sugar drastically because it just did not need it. My question to my husband was "why can't you buy chunky style applesauce"? I loved the chunks of apple. I won't be buying applesauce any longer, this is too easy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I'm not a chunky applesauce person though, so I will run my chopped apples through the food processor after cooking (and cooling!) to make a smoother applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was really easy, although I needed to use less water (about 1/2 a cup only) because I soaked the apples in water with a little lemon juice to prevent browning, although in retrospect I guess it doesn't matter since the cinnamon and cloves are brown :). This recipe tastes exactly like Mott's cinnamon applesauce which I LOVE, but I can pronounce all the ingredients that went into it. I used 6 Fuji apples (I tried this with golden delicious and did not like it - I'm going back to Fuji or Cortland next time - the Fuji won't need any sugar) and 1/8 c sugar, and probably could have gone without, completely. I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon cause I love cinnamon, and will leave out the cloves next time. I also might try throwing in some strawberries or other berry. I did need to cook it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
The only thing I added to this recipe was about 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I used a potato masher to eliminate the big chunks. We ate it warm and thought it was delicious. My 4-year-old daughter even ate a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
this is the best applesauce i have ever had. i blended it up when it cooled off like another reviewer said and it was great. thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
natural applesauce; it tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Good recipe! It tastes great without adding any sugar and just a little bit more water. (A dash of nutmeg is great too.) A healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very simple and very good. I used extremely tart apples, and 1/2 cup sugar was just about right (would probably have used less for "regular" apples). I liked the chunky texture! My husband thinks it would be delicious warm over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I love cinnamon so I added a lot extra (1 tsp.) I only used 1/8 cup sugar since I tasted it and it didn't need anymore. I like my applesauce chunky so I thought this recipe is great. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I don't like cloves and debated using them. I did and OH MY WORD was this awesome!! I used the food processor for 3/4 of this then used a fork just to break up the remaining apples so there would still be large chunks. We had it while it was still warm and oh my word!! Never again will I buy applesauce when I can easily make it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! **EDIT: I've made this numerous times now and it's great warm but even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States