Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I've made this recipe twice and both times the applesauce was great! However, i found that when i used fresh apples picked from our tree, it didn't need any sugar. The second time, i used apples that i had frozen and needed the sugar, but used half of what was recommended. It's an easy recipe and i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I don't like cloves and debated using them. I did and OH MY WORD was this awesome!! I used the food processor for 3/4 of this then used a fork just to break up the remaining apples so there would still be large chunks. We had it while it was still warm and oh my word!! Never again will I buy applesauce when I can easily make it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! **EDIT: I've made this numerous times now and it's great warm but even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
It is imporant to rememeber that apples come in various forms. Some are sweet, others tart. Some have firm flesh and others soft. Therefore, there is no exact recipe for anything involving apples. With that said, this is a great basis to work from. I used Cortland apples, which had a sweet taste and firm texture. I tasted the apple mixture right before I was supposed to add sugar, and it was sweet enough so I left it out. Then when it was finished cooking, I smooshed its with the back of the spoon to make it smoother, but still chunky. A number of people commented it on not getting it smooth enough. Some advice: use softer fleshed apples, add more water and cook for longer, or use a blender, as previosuly stated. Over all this was a great way to make applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was really easy, although I needed to use less water (about 1/2 a cup only) because I soaked the apples in water with a little lemon juice to prevent browning, although in retrospect I guess it doesn't matter since the cinnamon and cloves are brown :). This recipe tastes exactly like Mott's cinnamon applesauce which I LOVE, but I can pronounce all the ingredients that went into it. I used 6 Fuji apples (I tried this with golden delicious and did not like it - I'm going back to Fuji or Cortland next time - the Fuji won't need any sugar) and 1/8 c sugar, and probably could have gone without, completely. I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon cause I love cinnamon, and will leave out the cloves next time. I also might try throwing in some strawberries or other berry. I did need to cook it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Delicious flavor. I did blend mine in the food processor and I found that it cooked better when I covered the pot with a lid. Overall great recipe and exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This recipe turned out kind of chunky and that's *exactly* what I was looking for. Very simple, very easy, very TASTY! Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Yum, this was really good. I only added 2 tablespoons of sugar, left out the cloves, added a cinnamon stick, and used a potato masher to reach the consistency I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is a godsend! I always end up with two or three apples leftover from the bag, the ones that are a little soft and not very tasty - they're perfect for applesauce! I love that any apple can be used and I mix and match and lot. Adding the sugar near the end gives me a lot of control over the sweetness. The texture is amazing, I love the lumpy bits. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Oh man, SOOO good! We are moving in a week and so I've been looking for recipes to use up all the food we have. I've have about 5 apples sitting in the fridge for a few months and I thought this looked easy enough. Totally worth it! So easy! I didn't have any cloves, so I just used 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, that tastes great. And I think next time I'd half the sugar, but I'm one of those types to not like my food sweet. I think it's great as is though!!! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganFo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this with the preschoolers that I teach as part of an apple unit. They even got to take some home to share with family! Yummy and easy to make! Gina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States