Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This recipe turned out kind of chunky and that's *exactly* what I was looking for. Very simple, very easy, very TASTY! Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Not really like applesauce at all. I used a masher to try to get the apples to resemble applesauce more. Thought my toddler daughters would LOVE it but they wanted nothing to do with it. Also, I believe less sugar could be used - maybe half of what this suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I'm not a chunky applesauce person though, so I will run my chopped apples through the food processor after cooking (and cooling!) to make a smoother applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I am usually not the type to rate something, but I thought this recipe was fantastic. Who knew you could make such a treat in 20 minutes. I reduced the amount of sugar drastically because it just did not need it. My question to my husband was "why can't you buy chunky style applesauce"? I loved the chunks of apple. I won't be buying applesauce any longer, this is too easy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
natural applesauce; it tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
The only thing I added to this recipe was about 1/8 tsp. nutmeg. I used a potato masher to eliminate the big chunks. We ate it warm and thought it was delicious. My 4-year-old daughter even ate a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Good recipe! It tastes great without adding any sugar and just a little bit more water. (A dash of nutmeg is great too.) A healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I don't like cloves and debated using them. I did and OH MY WORD was this awesome!! I used the food processor for 3/4 of this then used a fork just to break up the remaining apples so there would still be large chunks. We had it while it was still warm and oh my word!! Never again will I buy applesauce when I can easily make it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! **EDIT: I've made this numerous times now and it's great warm but even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was really easy, although I needed to use less water (about 1/2 a cup only) because I soaked the apples in water with a little lemon juice to prevent browning, although in retrospect I guess it doesn't matter since the cinnamon and cloves are brown :). This recipe tastes exactly like Mott's cinnamon applesauce which I LOVE, but I can pronounce all the ingredients that went into it. I used 6 Fuji apples (I tried this with golden delicious and did not like it - I'm going back to Fuji or Cortland next time - the Fuji won't need any sugar) and 1/8 c sugar, and probably could have gone without, completely. I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon cause I love cinnamon, and will leave out the cloves next time. I also might try throwing in some strawberries or other berry. I did need to cook it 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very simple and very good. I used extremely tart apples, and 1/2 cup sugar was just about right (would probably have used less for "regular" apples). I liked the chunky texture! My husband thinks it would be delicious warm over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States