Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good, basic applesauce! I agree with other comments about sugar being unnecessary depending on the apple you use. Such a nutritious treat to serve my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. I never bother peeling apples when making applesauce! Added only ½ cup water and simmered covered very low heat for 1 hour 15 minutes. The kitchen smells so good! Added ¼ cup sugar and 2 tablespoons honey the last 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I added only 1/3 cup sugar and it was great. I would definitely make it again! :D So much better than Mott's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Way good! I also added a little bit of nutmeg. Needs to be mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe I did modify a bit. Used allspice instead and also my apples were plenty sweet enough and the sugar was completely unnecessary I would definitely taste them before you add the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe... although it made the whole kitchen smell lovely while it was cooking! My husband likes his applesauce less chunky, so I made sure to chop/food process the apples very small. It would be good fresh and warm, but didn't seem that appetizing when cold or as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used brown sugar instead of white. My tip is to begin by cooking just the apples and a small amount of the water. You can then add water as needed as the apples begin to break down--you will then have the perfect consistency. Once the apples have cooked down taste them to determine the correct amount of sugar and spice needed because all apples have a different level of sweetness. I also used my immersion blender because we prefer a smooth sauce. My kids and husband proclaim that this is the best apple sauce they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
For my medium sized ~3" Dia Cameo apples this recipe took 4 apples. and I used crushed clove heads so the clove taste immediately after cooking was irregularily distributed. I'm looking forward to tasting it after freezing. Really yummy comfort food. Might make a great base for a chutney or fruit soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am not a cloves fan but I followed this recipe exactly as it reads and it tastes absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
love it. recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States