Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yes, this was very easy. I used a teaspoon of homemade apple pie spice instead of the individual spices asked for in this recipe. I also used organic apples. After the apples simmered, I used my potato masher to do a quick mash on the apples, leaving some chunks for a more textured applesauce. This was a lifesaver for someone who cooks quite a bit with applesauce and found herself out of applesauce and low on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is recipe is super-easy and tastes great. My kids both liked it. We used some of it to make Lucy's Applesauce Pie (Peanuts cookbook) and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My dad is the applesauce maker in our family, and his recipe is much the same. The differences: less sugar (depending on the apple), no cloves, and he leaves the skin on (it strains out in the final steps and gives the applesauce a pretty pink colour!) Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good, basic applesauce! I agree with other comments about sugar being unnecessary depending on the apple you use. Such a nutritious treat to serve my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. I never bother peeling apples when making applesauce! Added only ½ cup water and simmered covered very low heat for 1 hour 15 minutes. The kitchen smells so good! Added ¼ cup sugar and 2 tablespoons honey the last 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I added only 1/3 cup sugar and it was great. I would definitely make it again! :D So much better than Mott's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Way good! I also added a little bit of nutmeg. Needs to be mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe I did modify a bit. Used allspice instead and also my apples were plenty sweet enough and the sugar was completely unnecessary I would definitely taste them before you add the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe... although it made the whole kitchen smell lovely while it was cooking! My husband likes his applesauce less chunky, so I made sure to chop/food process the apples very small. It would be good fresh and warm, but didn't seem that appetizing when cold or as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used brown sugar instead of white. My tip is to begin by cooking just the apples and a small amount of the water. You can then add water as needed as the apples begin to break down--you will then have the perfect consistency. Once the apples have cooked down taste them to determine the correct amount of sugar and spice needed because all apples have a different level of sweetness. I also used my immersion blender because we prefer a smooth sauce. My kids and husband proclaim that this is the best apple sauce they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States