Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was a nice and easy recipe. I used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon instead of the 1/8 tsp. as suggested, because my son is a big fan of cinnamon. My mom is a tough critic and she really enjoyed the applesauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family loves this version. Sometimes I don't peel the apples if I am short on time and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe was excellent and so very yummy! I used 6 fuji apples, 1/8 teaspoon each of cinnamon and cloves, 3/4 cup water. I let that that simmer for about 15 minutes before putting just 2 spoonfuls of sugar in and let it simmer for 10 more minutes. Then I transferred it to my food processer and pulsed it a dozen times or so. It was fantastic warm. I will try it tomorrow cold. I can't wait! Thank you for the excellent recipe. I will never buy applesauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a great applesauce recipe. I love chunky applesauce, and this one fit the bill. I used the recipe to just eat by itself and to mix with a cake. When you use it to mix with the cake you need to add some moisture since it is a chunky recipe. The spicing in it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHNWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Been making applesauce this way for years. Never have bought applesauce. I like the addition of nutmeg also. I make it both with the addition of some sugar and with no sugar. Like it both ways! Most of the time I double or triple the recipe as I freeze alot of applesauce but it can also be canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is almost identical to the recipe I use for applesauce...I use apple cider instead of water, adding just enough so the apples don't burn or stick. Also, taste the applesauce before adding the sugar as some apples are sweeter than others. I cook slowly over low-med. heat, I find it gives a more intense apple flavor the longer it cooks. When done I mash with a potato masher to the consistency I want. Hope you find these tips helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
When I make big batches to can, I mash the apples with a potato masher. When I open a jar for a meal and I want it smoother, I use a stick blender. Does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used only about 1/3 c water, and mashed with a potato masher when cooked, for a chunky texture which we pefer. I've always used Splenda, and added a little nutmeg, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yummy! Used Gala apples so decreased sugar to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good recipe. Here's a way to make it even easier. Don't bother peeling or coring apples. Just cut them into quarters or eights. After the apples finish cooking, put them through a food mill. It will separate out the peels and seeds. Plus, it leaves the applesauce with a pretty pink tone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States