Apples by the Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This is excellent on camping trips.We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Fabulous dessert that's simple and delicious! If you like baked apples in the oven then you'll love 'em over the fire. Not only because of the ease of prep (you can basically eyeball vs. measure), but because of the ease of clean up - there is none! I sprayed the foil with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick and added a pat of Land O Lakes light butter over top along with a splash of vanilla. This was great with vanilla ice cream. Next time I might add some raisins or a splash of rum vs. vanilla for a little different flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
The were great! We used red delicious apples since my daughter dosent like granny smiths! And i kept thinking that they woudl be really good with some pecans inside too... or a little bit of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I doubled this recipe and I used homemade apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. I didn't make mine in the "fire", I wrapped my apples in foil and stuck them in the cast iron skillet and baked it at 350 for ten minutes. The kids thought this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
excellent at our last camping trip. used red delicious apples as they are our favorite. Took some of the other suggestions and in my apple I put caramel instead of sugar and cinnamon--sooooo good. Afterwards I knew that next camping trip we were bringing LOTS of apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Added cranberries and walnuts. Served with french vanilla cool whip. TIP:leave cool whip frozen, keep in cooler when ready to serve should be thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
O.M.G.! So easy and delicious. It's apple pie in a tin foil pouch without the crust. The brown sugar mix melts begging you to smoosh the apple into it. I needed more brown sugar mix to stuff my apple so bring extra with you. No need to wait for a camping trip ... any night your grilling you should consider this simple and satisfying dessert. I wouldn't hesitate to bring this prep'd and wrapped to a cookout for a unique and fresh dessert. Some vanilla icecream would put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy, quick, and succulent. I added ground almonds and a teeny pinch of salt to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Didn't work out so well despite a hot fire and all the fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was a great treat by the fire. I felt that the apple needed to cook just a little longer, about 20 minutes or so. But it is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

How to Make a Fire Engine Cake

See how easy it is to make a fun, fire-engine birthday cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States