Apple and Tomato Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by love to cook
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We loved this chutney! Great success on dark bread with cheese!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This chutney was delicious. I served it with pork roast for the meat eaters and veggie scallopine for me. I didn't need to cook it as long as the recipe stated, but it is easy to just monitor the chutney and stop cooking when it is thick. I couldn't find my cheesecloth, so I just put the mustard seeds in with all the other ingredients and it was fine. I plan to put the leftovers in the freezer in small portions and use them throughout the fall and winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
i used only a splosh of balsamic and almost no sugar.flavour is amazing.delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irmgard Dyck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the best chutney I have ever tasted. It goes very well with roast pork or chicken. I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tai Tam, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the first time I've made chutney and it was great. My family love it... Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Loved it!! After it was made I poured half over thick pork chops that I had placed in the crockpot. After a few hours it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I had a glut of Bramley cooking apples and cherry tomatoes - the apples made it really acidic so I increased the sugar to triple the recipe weight (450g). Beacuse the apples were so small, it wasn't practical to peel them, so I whizzed them up in my food processor to make the bits of skin as small as possible. This chutney is slightly too salty for my taste, so next time I would decrease the salt to 15g (one level tablespoon). Kalonji (also called nigella or black onion) seeds make a nice substitute for mustard seeds - but leave them loose in the mix! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
It was really delicious. Practically it goes well with anything. I had it with sliced chedder cheese on the crispy bread one day and put it over sauteed salmon on the other day. This recipe is definitely the keeper. (^_^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Made a very inaccurate version of this and it was delicious. Had three wizened apples and two spongy tomates on my counter accusing me. I cooked chopped apples in small amount of water, added chopped peeled toms, a small handful of finely chopped red onion-- NO mustard seeds no curry--. Added 1/4 cup sugar, few shakes cayenne,salt and nutmeg, handful of sunmaids and a splosh of white vinegar. Simmered 5 minutes and served with curry (so avoided curry powder in chutney) Really good! Will definately 'fake' this recipe in future. Gotta love one you can be this careless with and still get a good result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States