Apple and Tomato Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Very peppery flavor. Easy to prepare. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
One thing I thought about, as I am right now making 2 different chutneys, is that they should be left in a dark cool place for up to 3 months before opening. This way the acidity has "toned down"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Peel the tomatoes first else you end up with stringy bits of skin. I added some dried peaches, anise and cloves for extra flavour. This is an excellent recipe! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Made a very inaccurate version of this and it was delicious. Had three wizened apples and two spongy tomates on my counter accusing me. I cooked chopped apples in small amount of water, added chopped peeled toms, a small handful of finely chopped red onion-- NO mustard seeds no curry--. Added 1/4 cup sugar, few shakes cayenne,salt and nutmeg, handful of sunmaids and a splosh of white vinegar. Simmered 5 minutes and served with curry (so avoided curry powder in chutney) Really good! Will definately 'fake' this recipe in future. Gotta love one you can be this careless with and still get a good result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
It was really delicious. Practically it goes well with anything. I had it with sliced chedder cheese on the crispy bread one day and put it over sauteed salmon on the other day. This recipe is definitely the keeper. (^_^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I had a glut of Bramley cooking apples and cherry tomatoes - the apples made it really acidic so I increased the sugar to triple the recipe weight (450g). Beacuse the apples were so small, it wasn't practical to peel them, so I whizzed them up in my food processor to make the bits of skin as small as possible. This chutney is slightly too salty for my taste, so next time I would decrease the salt to 15g (one level tablespoon). Kalonji (also called nigella or black onion) seeds make a nice substitute for mustard seeds - but leave them loose in the mix! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Loved it!! After it was made I poured half over thick pork chops that I had placed in the crockpot. After a few hours it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the first time I've made chutney and it was great. My family love it... Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tai Tam, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the best chutney I have ever tasted. It goes very well with roast pork or chicken. I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Tomato Concassé

See a terrific tomato preparation for sauces, stews, soups, and chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States