Apple and Spice Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fantastic! I made in the crockpot (on low @ 2.5 to 3 hrs/lb). I poured the whole applesauce mixture recipe over the roast in the slow cooker; I didn't save any for serving. It was delish! I couldn't stop picking at it before serving! I wish I'd had enough applesauce on hand to make the mixture again for the table, but I just served the roast and poured the liquid from the crock over the roast and mashed potatoes, too. Delish! Thanks for a yummy new dish for my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albin, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was awesome. So juicy. I did it in the crockpot - I omitted the rub and just dumped the applesauce mixture over the top. I used a 4 lb pork loin and cooked it for about 6 hours on low. I served it with an apple chutney. Really good fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and my family loves it! I place the roast in a slow cooker for approx 7-8 hrs, double the applesauce mixture, throw in some carrots and potatoes, and fill with about 1/4 a pitcher of apple juice. It's great and tastes even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Best pork recipe i have EVER tried. I used a 3-pound roast and put potatoes and carrots around it, added a little bit of water and covered it with foil. 3 hours later it was done -- moist!!!!! The sauce really makes this dish. Serve the sauce PIPING hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYJIMMIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Yummy!!! The next time that I make it I will double the applesauce mixture - I really liked the sauce. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was a great recipe. I just mixed up the ingredients and added a few more spices, like Emerils Essence and a little apple juice and threw it all in the crock pot. Pouring the apple sauce mixture over the top. My son asked what was on top. I was hesitant to tell him because I know he doesn't like apple sauce. However, he thought it was fantastic and had 3 helpings!! Next time I might add some cinnamon, or apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Wow! It makes my mouth water just thinking about it! I doubled the sauce mixture. It is the perfect accompaniment to the pork roast. I used a 5 lb boston butt roast and cooked it in the crock pot overnight. Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Although I had to bake this much longer than the recipe called for, it was really good once it was actually done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very good - followed recipe exactly as written. Next time I will double the applesauce mixture as recommended by other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was a fantastic recipe! Served it with brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes, and my own apple salad recipe and it was a huge hit. I also would suggest doubling the sauce as someone else did, especially if you have a larger sized roast. Oh, and the left overs made great sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States