Apple and Spice Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
good easy recipe. the glaze makes it! I will try searing it 1st though next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I really liked this, although the nutmeg i found to be a little strong even though there is not much in there. Next time I may cut it in half. I served it with biscuits, succotash, twice baked potatoes, and... cinnamon applesauce! Everyone loved it, and everyone had seconds. Always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was very tasty. The pork took almost 2 hours to cook through. I like how the sauce is thick enough to stay on top of the pork while it cooks. However, when serving the second half over the sliced pork I would probably thin it out with a little apple juice so it's more like a gravy/glaze. I coated carrots in a butter/brown sugar mixture and threw them in the pan with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
it was excellent, Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
WOW! This recipe was fantastic. Even the neighbor (who is pretty finicky and opinionated) LOVED it! I had halved the recipe but kept the full amount on the sauce. I still needed more sauce for the leftovers. The only thing I did differently was that I didn't have applesauce but I had apples. I just microed two large sweet ones with a dash of cinnamon (didn't add any sugar), and then added about 1/2 - 2/3 cups of chopped sweet onions to the sauce mix. The recipe is already in my recipe box. Definatly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfect! I added some liquid smoke as I was putting on the rub to help it stick, but I am not sure if it really altered the flavor. I agree with the other posters that making extra sauce for topping prior to serving is a must - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Loved it! I used a 2 pound boneless pork roast. It took about 1 hour in a 350 degree oven for it to reach the internal temperature of 140 degrees. At that point, I poured ALL of the applesauce mixture over top of the roast, threw in about a half of bag of baby carrots along the sides of the roast, covered it and baked for another hour or so. I just poured the sauce over the sliced meat on the serving platter. I did not scale the recipe due to my smaller roast size - I just kept all other amounts the same. I had plenty of sauce form my 2lb. roast. The carrots were perfect, and nice and sweet from the sauce. This one is definately a "do again" recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was very good! I used a bone-in roast, and instead of applesauce, I grated fresh apples. The only complaint I have, is that the cooking times are a bit on the short side. At the end of the specified time, my roast was still bloody... and this was even with a bone-in, (which should've shortened the time!) As I had dinner guests at a certain time, I was forced to throw the roast into the microwave to make up the additional time needed. Despite this, it still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very good - followed recipe exactly as written. Next time I will double the applesauce mixture as recommended by other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Did this in the crock pot for about 6 hours on low. Omitted the flour and upped the spices. Just mixed it all in with the applesauce and poured it over the roast. About half way through I added some uncooked diced buttercup squash and carrots. Although I don't normally serve a new recipe to guests, I risked it with this one and am so glad I did. Rave reviews from everyone! (Now they think I can cook!) This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States