Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Er, you left something out of this recipe! Didn't you forget to add the apple juice? I thought the cookies were fine, but probably will not make them again because I prefer crisper cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These were very good, like someone else suggested I also used apple cider. I also added a tsp. of vanilla and instead of chopping the apples, I grated them. They came out moist. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Super yummy, I can't stop eating them! I changed a few things to make this a softer cookie: instead of apple juice I used apple cider and I added 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce, I also used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup of splenda. I also omitted the raisins and used 3/4 cup pecans instead of walnuts. This recipe turned out delicious and is perfect for a vegan like me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cannot express how grateful I am for this recipe! My 2-year-old son is allergic to dairy, and my 1-year-old son is allergic to eggs, so I am always searching for milk-free, egg-free recipes! I also added dried cranberries instead of raisins, and used water instead of apple juice, as I didn't have any. However, 1/3 c. of liquid was not enough to make a dough. It was still dry and floury. I used 2/3 c. and that was a bit too much so maybe 1/2 c. ? This is a great fall cookie recipe and I'm sure will be a staple for my boys for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIELOVESKEITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great Recipe, thanks. I did modify by adding dried apricots and dried cherries and adding few tbsp of cheery juice. Also tried this with dried cranberries, was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
A nice spicy cookie which my kids really enjoyed. I modified the recipe by using dried cranberries instead of raisins, substituting whole wheat flour for half the white (and adding a little extra liquid to compensate), and putting a few drops of lemon icing sugar glaze on the top of each cookie. I also didn't add nuts because my kids have nut sensitive friends. Excellent, but it took a little longer to cook than the recipe indicated. I would try the recipe again with slightly less brown sugar (maybe only a cup), slightly less fat, and all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
My daughter and I loved these cookies. I replaced the apple juice with red wine and used only 1/3 of the sugar and they turned out fantastic. I did not use the nuts because she is allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
We really loved these. One of my boys has severe allergies and this is the first cookie recipe that we have all enjoyed. They were worth the extra step of preparing the chopped apple. My only suggestion is to make sure you store them in an air tight container or they get hard like ginger snaps. I also used 3 teaspoons Cinnamon Plus instead of measuring the spices individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baltzley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
my family really liked this one. Smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASCALLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Not the prettiest cookie in the world but,boy, are they ever good! A little sugar drizzle dresses them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States