Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I had apples I needed to use up so I decided to try this recipe. I dove right in without reading any of the reviews, which is why I was stumped when the recipe didn't advise what to do with the apple juice. I ended up adding it with the nuts and apples. I followed the recipe exactly except I ommitted the raisins. I had serious doubts about how the cookies were going to turn out when the batter just didn't stay together well. As I rolled/patted/pieced mounds together on the cookie sheet, it reminded me of trying to mold wet sand. Keeping them together was a challenge, but they came out GREAT! They melt in your mouth with wonderful flavor! A note about the apple pieces--I think slivers or dicing would be OK, but mine still came out moist using rather large apple pieces. I wasn't sure if the apple was supposed to be peeled or not. Leaving the peel on turned out fine. Oh--and leave plenty of room between cookies. Those crumbly mounds really stretch out with baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I shredded the apples instead of chopping, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly...THEY WERE WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These are great! I added the apple juice and some vanilla to the butter/sugar mix. No nuts, so I added an extra cup of apples. Make sure to let them cool before removing them or they'll fall apart. Great autumn recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I skipped the cloves, used apple cider instead of apple juice, skipped the nuts, and used Ocean Spray Craisins (cranberries) instead of raisins. Per another users' comment, I doubled the amount of apple cider since the mixture seemed extremely dry, but then I was concerned about it being too most, so I added in more flour. I also added one cup of applesauce and grated my apples. I also added some carmel bites. The cookies didn't look ANYTHING like the picture for some reason, but still tasted decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
don't forget the liquid, and grate the apple, and the cookies will turn out wonderfully moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Wonderful--made them for my little twins with allergies, but couldn't keep them away from the big kids. Will need to double the recipe next time. I took the suggestion of shredding the apple instead of using chunks. I think it added a welcome bit of moisture to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great Cookie! Though next time I'm going to cut the amount of sugar in half - it was waaaaaaay to sugary for me. I also just threw in the apple juice and as a result had to add lots more flour to get to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I am out of eggs and wanted to bake cookies, so I thought I'd give this a try. Delicious cookie! I didn't have apple juice or shortening so I used a stick of softened butter and water. I shredded the apples instead of chopping. I used 2 Granny Smith apples. My house smells heavenly! I'm anxious to try them next time with dried cranberries. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCRASH3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these 2x. once i omitted the juice and added an egg. it was a more cakey cookie that way. Good both ways though. i did need to press the cookies down and flatten a little whithout the eggs in them they did not spread on there own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have beenbaking like crazy as i had 40 pounds of apples to get rid of. By far this is the best apple recipe I baked!!!!! I didnt add raisins, but added a 1/4 cup more chopped apples, to die for!!!!! I never added apple juice, it never said when and they still turned out, batter was a thick and a bit dry but once you scooped out and rolled in your palms it worked well, i just smooched the balls a bit and on parchment paper, came out perfect!!!!! took them to work, they were gone in no time, and everyone requested recipe!!! LOVE THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States