Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good cookie. Although the recipe does not say where to add the apple juice. I added in with the brown sugar and shortening and this seemed to work well making the mixture a little more moist when adding in all of the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The taste is wonderful, but the texture is lacking. My cookies look nothing like the picture. They are extremely thin and spread out. Be careful while following directions, because no where do they tell you to add the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made these with my daughter today. They were super easy and super YUMMY!! If we had more of the ingredients on hand we would've tripled the recipe because we have sooo many apples! We didn't change anything other than using butter in place of the shortening and apple cider instead of juice because that's what we had in the house. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I don't understand how these are so highly rated. I follewed the instructions and am an avid baker. They fall apart. The flavor are there but the chemistry is all wrong and will not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Felgner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
When I combined the sugar/shortening & dry ingredients together the batter was extremely dry and I could not imagine 1/3c of cider (I substituted juice for cider) making much difference. So I added 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce as per Betsy Crocker's review had suggested and used the electric mixer to completely combine everything. The batter was very sticky and moist. The cookies spread and thinned out a lot! I could only fit 12 per sheet. Being so thin I only baked for 9 mins. They were very soft and need to cool on the baking sheet for 4 mins before removing them. They taste delicious but are not the prettiest cookies. I will need to experiment a little more to get the consistency correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
First I would like to say thank you for the recipe, as is it was a great recipe just the way it is. Now having said that I completely changed it to suit me the second time around. I am type 1 diabetic and I really enjoyed the recipe so I thought I would make it a little more healthy. I used 2 cups multigrain flour,instead of all purpose. 1/2 cup apple sauce & 1/4 cup shortening instead of the 1/2 cup shortining, I also used 3/4 cup splenda brown sugar blend in place of 1 1/3 cup brown sugar. Almonds in place of walnuts. 2 cups grated apples instead of 1 cup chopped and 1 cup unsweetened dried cranberries in place of rasins. I think this is a great recipe to play with, you can change up the add-ins to suit any taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was good cookie, it was on the running side. I added 1/2 Oatmeal 1 1/2 cups more of flour I Kitck it up.added 1 cup of chopped Dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yum! This cookie reminded me of ginger snaps, just with apple chunks added. So delicious. I'll be making these again, especially in autumn months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Directions unclear. More cake like than a cookie. Was just "ok". Was more like a snack cake than a cookie. Doubtful I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States