Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made these with my daughter today. They were super easy and super YUMMY!! If we had more of the ingredients on hand we would've tripled the recipe because we have sooo many apples! We didn't change anything other than using butter in place of the shortening and apple cider instead of juice because that's what we had in the house. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I don't understand how these are so highly rated. I follewed the instructions and am an avid baker. They fall apart. The flavor are there but the chemistry is all wrong and will not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
When I combined the sugar/shortening & dry ingredients together the batter was extremely dry and I could not imagine 1/3c of cider (I substituted juice for cider) making much difference. So I added 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce as per Betsy Crocker's review had suggested and used the electric mixer to completely combine everything. The batter was very sticky and moist. The cookies spread and thinned out a lot! I could only fit 12 per sheet. Being so thin I only baked for 9 mins. They were very soft and need to cool on the baking sheet for 4 mins before removing them. They taste delicious but are not the prettiest cookies. I will need to experiment a little more to get the consistency correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
First I would like to say thank you for the recipe, as is it was a great recipe just the way it is. Now having said that I completely changed it to suit me the second time around. I am type 1 diabetic and I really enjoyed the recipe so I thought I would make it a little more healthy. I used 2 cups multigrain flour,instead of all purpose. 1/2 cup apple sauce & 1/4 cup shortening instead of the 1/2 cup shortining, I also used 3/4 cup splenda brown sugar blend in place of 1 1/3 cup brown sugar. Almonds in place of walnuts. 2 cups grated apples instead of 1 cup chopped and 1 cup unsweetened dried cranberries in place of rasins. I think this is a great recipe to play with, you can change up the add-ins to suit any taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was good cookie, it was on the running side. I added 1/2 Oatmeal 1 1/2 cups more of flour I Kitck it up.added 1 cup of chopped Dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yum! This cookie reminded me of ginger snaps, just with apple chunks added. So delicious. I'll be making these again, especially in autumn months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Directions unclear. More cake like than a cookie. Was just "ok". Was more like a snack cake than a cookie. Doubtful I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
What a great cookie! I did use apple cider and had to add a splash or two more of it. I think next time I will add a bit less cloves as I thought it was a bit much. Very easy cookie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I had apples I needed to use up so I decided to try this recipe. I dove right in without reading any of the reviews, which is why I was stumped when the recipe didn't advise what to do with the apple juice. I ended up adding it with the nuts and apples. I followed the recipe exactly except I ommitted the raisins. I had serious doubts about how the cookies were going to turn out when the batter just didn't stay together well. As I rolled/patted/pieced mounds together on the cookie sheet, it reminded me of trying to mold wet sand. Keeping them together was a challenge, but they came out GREAT! They melt in your mouth with wonderful flavor! A note about the apple pieces--I think slivers or dicing would be OK, but mine still came out moist using rather large apple pieces. I wasn't sure if the apple was supposed to be peeled or not. Leaving the peel on turned out fine. Oh--and leave plenty of room between cookies. Those crumbly mounds really stretch out with baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States