Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made these and they were wonderful. I changed a few things, I added 1 tsp of Pumpkin Spice, 1 tsp Vanilla Extract, used Apple Cider instead of juice and grated the apples. It was amazing the best fall cookie I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It always cracks me up when I see so many differing reviews from one recipe. "They're too cakey" with "They're too crispy" and "They fall flat" vs "Be sure to flatten". We loved these. I was careful to sift my flour twice before measuring. I had to use leftover apple pie mix (which I cut to pea sizes) and I was out of apple juice, so I used orange juice to reconstitute my raisins and used that instead of the apple juice. While at first it did seem as though there was too much flour, I took my time and sure enough - the liquid hydrated the flour to just the right consistency. My only reason for a 4 rating is 1) 1 tsp of cloves is a tad too much - it really overpowered the cookie and 2) still struggling with cooking time. 400 burnt on bottom while tops were undone. So far, 350 for 12 minutes seems to be about right. Cripsy on the bottom while cakey on top. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Taste is great! However, the first time I made them I did as instructed just switching out applesauce for apple juice, and coconut oil for shortening... They came out with the bottoms burnt and the cookies not cooked through. (I may have unnecessarily greased the pan). The next time I used butter and didn't grease the pan, cooked them for 15 minutes at 350 degrees and they were perfect, and delicious! I brought them with me to share with a crowd :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I very much liked this recipe. I did however make a few changes. I used half whole wheat pastry flour for the flour, coconut oil for the shortening, milk instead of juice (since I had neither juice nor cider), and rapadura sugar instead of brown sugar. I look forward to making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These turned out great! Used whole wheat flour (added extra 1/2 cup), added applesauce as someone else suggested along with the juice, evap cane sugar and molasses rather than white sugar, left out the nuts (allergies) and added finely shredded carrots. Would be better with either nuts or toasted oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are officially my favorite cookies ever. I am not overly fond of nuts in cookies so I omitted them and increased the apples and raisins each by 1/2 cup. I used coconut oil for the shortening. They are moist, soft, and chewy, and don't come out too flat but they aren't too poofy either. I think they're perfect. And best of all they're VEGAN! My best friend is vegan and she loves when I make these. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great flavor but cookied don't mix well or look appetizing at all. They come out flat like silver dollars and are somewhat dry and fall apart very easily. Make sure you put a plate under your chin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Interesting cookie with good flavor, but the consistency is not my favorite. A little too soft and doesn't seem to hold it's shape very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
i followed the recipe but added 1 1/4 apples (2 small apples) and added 1/3c plus a couple tbsp of apple juice when mixing the wet and dry, much easier to use your hands. they fall flat when cooling but they taste good and the house smells amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good cookie. Although the recipe does not say where to add the apple juice. I added in with the brown sugar and shortening and this seemed to work well making the mixture a little more moist when adding in all of the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States