Apple and Sausage Cornbread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe should be re-posted with at least one can of chicken broth included. It was so dry it was embarrassing. I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before preparing. I'll never do that again. I doctored it up and it was better but the damage was done: the husband wouldn't touch it again. Good thing I made a batch of his mother's recipe of dressing as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great recipe! I took the advice of others and used a can of chicken broth, and I also threw in a handful of sun dried tomatoes to the mushroom mixture towards the end to add some more flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
An absolute favorite with the entire family! The only change made to the recipe was the addition of chicken broth which gave the desired moistness. This dish will be a regular part of our family dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Kentucky, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So I've prepared a very similar version my whole life, never dry! The difference is I chop the onion, celery and apple then boil gently till tender, adding water as needed. It does take about 90 minutes. Add the veggies, liquid and all, to the bread crumb mixture. Also, I use bulk sausage, usually Jimmy Dean hot, crumbled and fried till cooked through, and I don't drain the sausage. Ever. My mouth is watering as I type. I can almost guarantee you'll make this stuffing again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Stuffing was a HUGE hit for Thanksgiving. The recipe was enough to stuff a large bird (19 lbs) with leftovers to bake in a pan. I also followed the suggestions of previous reviews in adding additional moisture--one egg and broth. Next time I make it the egg might be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Tried this at Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews. Barely had any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Good, not great. I did use some apple juice, as mentioned by others, to add some liquid..which helped. I'll try it again, but with different cornbread mix. I used Jiffy and it crumbled too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
TERRIFIC. I DID ADD APPLE JUICE AS SUGGESTED BY ONE OTHER REVEIWER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
i gave it 3 stars because it had the apples. i like fruit in my stuffing. i usually also have cranberries and some other dried fruit and almonds or pecans or cashews. i used italian sausage, crumbled, not sliced links. i did like the cornbread part, too. but i ONLY gave it 3 stars because it was so dry. it should have had some kind of liquid in it to make it moist. i was wondering, why would i bake this when it's already dry? i think i would try this recipe again except with some broth...to find out if i REALLY liked it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileymambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States