Apple and Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious flavors! Loved it! I added a bit of Crushed red pepper because I like spicy. but otherwise, used as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great taste, although I would have preferred it less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this with pork stock since I had a pork bone in the freezer. Simple but delicious. Spice combination was just right. I might try it with a cup of white wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Fantastic! Serve sit in a scooped out pumpkin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I cut down on the flour and used olive oil instead of butter - for health, not taste . :-) Also I find fresh apples fall apart too easily, so I use dried apple rings to avoid mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Excellent! Very flavorful and my picky husband and sone liked it. I did make a few changes for my family's tastes: skipped the flour dredge and just browned in canola oil; used white wine instead of red (that's all I had) and added an 8 oz can tomato sauce. I also used less onion and didn't use shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very tasty. I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding the apples at the same time as the pork. I added them at the end. Mine came out very soupy. I had to add 1/2 cup of cold water and 4 TBS of flour to it to get it to stew thickness. Next time I will up the amount of pork to at least 1.25 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Thanks so much for sharing! I made half the recipe which was about four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
When I first added the red wine to the stew, it seemed like it might be a bit overpowering to the other flavors. After it simmered, it was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this uniquely flavored stew with popovers or cornbread and a mixed greens salad to dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very nice stew. Made some changes based on what I had on hand - sweet yellow onion instead of red and no shallot. Used 1/2 cup of red wine so supplemented with splash of red wine vinegar. Husband didn't really like it, but doesn't like anything cooked with wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States